Brights and Stripes

The one time that I wore yoga pants and a t-shirt to take a final exam, a classmate asked me if I had jogged to class. While I normally prefer to be put together for a day of lectures, I can understand the appeal that sweatpants have on a rainy morning. Even as a college freshman, when 8am science labs were typical and pledging a sorority consumed the majority of my time, I always made an effort to be presentable.

BS6-1

Loft Tie-neck Blouse, Old Navy Patterned Shorts, J.Crew Necklace, Michael Kors Chronograph Watch, J.Crew Pave Link Bracelet, Loft Gold Bangles, J.Crew Printed Bangle

Truthfully, some days I completely faked it. I often rolled out of bed, brushed my hair, swiped a layer of mascara across my lashes, threw on a ZTA t-shirt and J.Crew pixies, and topped it off with a patterned scarf and a wool peacoat. Of course it only worked during the colder months, but getting dressed on a frigid day was simple.

BS1

As the end of summer approaches, I’ve found myself gravitating more towards brighter hues.

BS4

I don’t wear yellow that frequently, but I picked up this blouse a few weeks ago in hopes that it could be worn as the weather begins to transition.

BS3

I wore the top with this pair of blue-striped shorts that I found at Old Navy for a mere fifteen dollars. For someone who is obsessed with stripes, the shorts were a steal.

BS5

If you’re a student, what do you wear to class?

Sweatpants and a t-shirt, or a dress and cute jewelry?

10 thoughts on “Brights and Stripes

  1. I was an elementary education major and our professors let us know that if they caught us in the halls of our department in sweats or a t-shirt- we’d be written up and it would go into our file that they make for future teachers. They told us we better start practicing being professionals NOW…… I hated that simply because we wen’t professionals yet- we were college students!
    LOVE the bright look, it does look like it will transition really well to the cooler weather! 🙂 Simply adorable!!!!

  2. I’m with you about dressing up for class. I put together an outfit pretty much every day, I feel like it helps me take my classes more seriously. Even when I shower and get ready at the gym, I wear a coordinated outfit. You never know who you’re going to meet. It could be your future boss!

    • I totally agree–if I’m dressed like a slob, I feel like a slob. As silly as it is, if I’m wearing something nice (like a silk top), I pay more attention to my professor and sit up straighter to avoid wrinkles. If I’m in gym clothes, I can almost guarantee that I will be slumped in my chair.

  3. I love everything about this outfit!! One of my goals is to learn how to accessorize! I typically wear simple jewelry that i never take off… I love the bright blue with yellow, such a fun look!!

Share your thoughts!

