Weekend Getaway

 

Between being stuck in nine hours of traffic on the New Jersey Turnpike, babysitting for six different families, and attending the same finance class three days in a row, this past week has been nonstop. Friday was spent working ahead on a few homework assignments and lounging poolside in the afternoon.

DSC01300

In the late evening, my dad and I drove to Ocean City to meet Jen at our condo. I was exhausted when we arrived at 11:30pm, so I went straight to bed.

Saturday morning had the quintessential weekend feel to it: I slept in late, made a batch of chocolate chip pancakes (the fluffy kind that lack protein), and watched an episode or two of The Hills. By noon, the three of us headed to the beach with plenty of reading material. After vacationing in the Hamptons this summer on a private beach, reverting to the crowds in Ocean City was difficult. But then again, how can you complain when there’s sand on your toes?

DSC01330

I wasn’t feeling that well, so we left the beach earlier than usual and decided to go out for dinner. When you put a girl with a shopping habit in a city that boasts some of the best stores in the world, her dining budget is bound to be limited. Though I was perfectly fine with exclusively buying groceries from Trader Joe’s and eating only at restaurants with paper napkins, creating dinners around stale bagels became old after two months. (My apartment building offered a complimentary breakfast buffet each morning, meaning that meals were based around whatever I could save.)

A restaurant with table linens seemed luxurious, so I suggested that we try Nantuckets in Fenwick Island.

DSC01301

Given that I’m allergic to most seafood and now soy products, the majority of a restaurant’s menu can be eliminated at a first glance. As soon as I told our server about my dietary restrictions, she immediately brought out a second menu for me.

DSC01304

To start, I ordered a Caesar salad (with a balsamic vinaigrette dressing since the Caesar dressing contained anchovies) that I paired with a fresh roll. For my entrée, I ordered the Cuban sandwich from the tap room’s menu, but only ended up eating half of it. My dad and Jen ordered larger portions, so they initially wanted to skip on dessert. I, on the other hand, wasn’t leaving without trying Nantuckets’ blackberry cobbler. I also managed to convince my dad to order a piece of their key lime cheesecake—because let’s face it, you can’t go wrong when it comes to cheesecake. I wasn’t able to take any pictures as the lighting was dim, but everything was delicious. I’m excited to have finally found a go-to restaurant in Ocean City.

After dinner, Jen and I met up with her coworkers, Lauren, Sarah, and Ali, to make the obligatory visit to Seacrets. Luckily, we were put on a VIP list and were able to skip the long lines and the cover fee.

DSC01311

While they started with Seacrets’ signature dirty banana frozen drink, I stuck with a Blue Moon. We danced, laughed, and enjoyed the atmosphere for several hours before calling it a night.

Sunday was spent basking in the sun before dark clouds and a storm forced us off the beach in the late afternoon.

DSC01324

DSC01325

A bottle of wine was polished off as we showered and primped for a night in West Ocean City. What was intended to be a quick dinner at Harborside Bar and Grill turned into one of the worst dining experiences ever. Needless to say, I will never return!

My dad, Jen, and I left the beach early this morning so that we could be home to celebrate Labor Day with the rest of my family. A weekend getaway is always rejuvenating, especially when there’s a long week ahead!

Favorite beach spot?

How did you spend Labor Day?

2 thoughts on “Weekend Getaway

  1. That sounds like an amazing weekend! ….. Especially the polishing off a bottle of wine while primping- those were the days!
    Living in the most landlocked state EVER- I have never actually been to the beach. Sad but true. When I lived on Long Island I was only a mile from the beach but I lived there in the winter so no fun was had by this girl at the beach- total bummer!

Share your thoughts!

