Alternative Option

A few months ago, I mentioned that I was in the process of redecorating my bedroom. I replaced the carpet with hardwood floors, painted the walls, and bought a new bed, but I didn’t get much further than that. I had a really hard time finding key pieces—like a dresser—though I easily found some more decorative elements. I purchased my duvet cover nearly a year before I even began remodeling my bedroom (I loved it that much!).

image

My sister actually bought me a new dresser a few weeks ago, but I’ve still been looking for some more pieces to pull the room together. As I was searching online this morning, I saw this pintuck duvet cover from West Elm that is almost identical to the one I bought from Anthropologie.

image

image via West Elm

The Anthropologie duvet is no longer available, so this is a great option if you’re looking for a similar one (it’s cheaper, too!).

image

image via West Elm

I’m determined to finish decorating the space once I move back to Baltimore, hopefully before the end of summer!

Edited to add: A reader mentioned that she has the duvet from West Elm and unfortunately, it is lacking in quality. While it’s a pretty option, it might not be able to withstand a lot of wear and tear!

6 thoughts on “Alternative Option

  1. I love that duvet! When my husband & I finally get to decorating our house, we’ll definitely need something new for our bedroom. Sadly, I don’t think this duvet would look as nice covered in black pug hair, & I don’t think our pug will accept being relegated to the floor or :GASP: his dog bed!

  2. It is totally worth buying a year in advance- so cute!!! I love white covers!!! They just make everything look so clean and great—- however when I convinced the husband to try white, it only lasted a year before it had to go. The cats and upcoming baby made us think it wasn’t going to work out with the beautiful white.

  3. Fair warning to anyone out there, that West Elm one is not very nice quality. I have had mine for 2 years (in purple) and there are several spots where the stitching has come undone around the pintucks. The inside stuffing also does not stay put well at all and tends to fall to one side of the bed or the other. I love the look of these, but sadly the West Elm is not worth the money!

    • Thanks for the information, Erin! It’s too bad that it was made poorly as it looks great. While it’s cheaper than the majority of the duvets from Anthropologie, it’s definitely too expensive for an item that won’t last you more than a year or so. I’ll update my post so others are aware–thanks again!

Share your thoughts!

