Healthy Chicken and Eggplant Parmesan

Thank you for all of the well wishes on my move to New York City! To say that I am overwhelmed would be an understatement, but in the best way possible. The majority of my weekend was spent on the phone talking to contacts, responding to literally over 100 online rental listings, and writing mile-long to-do lists before my impending move.

My parents were at the beach for a few days, so I was responsible for taking care of everything at the house while they were away. I wanted to cook a healthy dinner for my brother and myself, but considering that I was knee-deep in laundry, I didn’t want to make anything that was too labor-intensive. I experimented with some recently purchased wheat germ to create a light version of chicken and eggplant parmesan.

Usually, my brother complains when I force my nutritional advice on him, but sometimes he actually enjoys my healthy meals.

Chicken and Eggplant Parmesan

1 pound chicken breasts

1 large eggplant

1/4 cup wheat germ

1/4 cup Italian bread crumbs

1/4 cup light mozzarella cheese

1/2 cup red sauce

1/4 cup egg whites (or one whole egg, whisked)

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper, to taste

eggplant chicken

1. Set the oven to broil. Thinly slice the eggplant, then lightly brush it with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

2. Place the eggplant slices on a foil-covered baking sheet and broil for five minutes. Flip the slices, then broil for another five minutes. Set aside.

3. Meanwhile, lightly pound the washed and dried chicken breasts using a meat tenderizer.

4. Pour the egg whites into a shallow bowl. In a separate shallow bowl, combine the wheat germ with the breadcrumbs.

5. Coat the chicken breasts in the egg whites then dredge it in the breadcrumb mixture, covering all sides.

6. Place the chicken in a ceramic dish and bake for 25 minutes, or until the chicken is nearly finished cooking.

7. Cover the chicken breasts with the eggplant slices, sauce and cheese. Broil on high in the oven for 5 minutes, or until the cheese is bubbling.

7 thoughts on “Healthy Chicken and Eggplant Parmesan

  1. I am a huge fan of traditional chicken and eggplant parm so, obviously, I love that you created a lightened up version. It looks deeeelicious!

Share your thoughts!

