I Quit

Some days I enjoy being a cardio queen–like yesterday when I completed eight miles on the stationary bike and followed it up with intervals on the treadmill–and other days I like doing endless shoulder presses and tricep dips. But then there are times when the thought of dragging myself to the gym is completely unappealing. Today was one of those days.

Awaking before my alarm sounded, I heard the tap of pouring rain against my window and knew that it was a stay-in-bed-and-read-fashion-magazines-while-catching-up-on-Gossip Girl-kind-of-day. There was one minor setback: it was Tuesday, and I was working at 7am.

Once I finished work this morning, I came home and forced myself onto the treadmill. Not all thirty minutes were pure torture, but I still didn’t feel accomplished afterwards. Later in the afternoon, the rain cleared up and a friend asked if I wanted to meet her for a walk. Her company made the two miles fly by and while I was glad I met up with her, my workout still felt like a chore.

I was babysitting in the evening and after incessantly studying the organs of the body for a science test, Jake and I took a little break. In the third grade, I insisted that my mom sign me up for softball because all of my friends were playing that year. I somehow ended up on a team by myself and as if matters couldn’t be any worse, I didn’t realize until the first day of practice that I had to wear a helmet. Being the girly-girl that I was, I refused to wear the smelly thing as it would mess up my perfectly coiffed hair. Standing on home plate, I bawled my eyes out and quit on the spot.

So, when Jake suggested that we play catch, I begrudgingly grabbed a mitt and headed outside. Then the weirdest thing happened. I actually…enjoyed it? How is this even possible? I caught ball after ball, laughing the entire time as Jake slid in the grass and became covered in mud. He even paid me a compliment, saying that I was good–for a girl. Turns out it was just the kind of exercise that I had been longing for all day. Some days my workouts just need to be fun.

Are your workouts ever purely fun?

What sports did you play as a child? Did you ever [dramatically] quit?

6 thoughts on “I Quit

  1. I love playing catch! It’s one of my favorite things to do when it’s warm outside, and I always played with my dad when I was younger. I played volleyball, basketball, badminton, and rugby up until the end of high school. I never quit – but I did get cut once!

  2. Haha awww I’m glad you were able to find some fun in your workout 🙂 And trust me I have BEEN there with you on those torturous treadmill sessions. I have no idea why some days are so much harder than others!

  3. This is funny…I just wrote about how I’ve been having some terrible workouts lately too! I think playing inner tube is the best workout I’ve had that was purely fun. As far as quitting childhood sports, I quit horseback riding after falling off too many times!

Share your thoughts!

