J.Crew Vortex

A little after 9am yesterday morning, my mom, my sister Ali, and I hit the road to drive to the beach. To celebrate Mother’s Day, my siblings and I planned a trip to Ocean City. It’s rare that my entire family is able to coordinate our schedules to go on vacation at the same time, so we set aside this weekend to spend together.

If you’re driving with me to the Eastern shore, there’s a pretty good chance that I will strategically plan a bathroom break about 65 miles into the drive—which just so happens to be in Queenstown, where the Prime Outlets are located. I’ve been known to quickly pull off the highway, run into J.Crew, and buy anything that is either striped, pink, or covered in cute critter embroideries—all in under 10 minutes.

photo (8)

A serviceman was coming to our condo “sometime after lunch” to fix our water heater, so I assumed that meant around 2pm, leaving us an hour to shop. I bought some new workout gear from Under Armour and a few cute things from Banana Republic, but my favorite purchase was a thick-striped tote bag from Kate Spade.

photo (9)

I was also drawn to a neon pink bag, and was seriously tempted to buy it, though I ultimately decided to hold off on it. I’ve actually never been a huge fan of neons, but I’ve recently been loving the bright colors (like the amazing Jimmy Choos).

photo (7)

The bangles were adorable, too!

photo (5)

Needless to say, a considerable amount of damage was done at J.Crew. My friend Anna tries to help me from being sucked into the vortex, but I can’t help it, Jenna Lyons is my favorite.

Before leaving, we stopped at Michael Kors to pick out a Mother’s Day gift for my aunt. I chose a classic gold watch, so I’m hoping she loves it!

As soon as we arrived in Ocean City, Ali and I changed into our bathing suits and headed down to the beach. Clear blue skies, a quiet beach, and a light read made for the ideal afternoon.

photo (10)

We walked back to our condo by 5pm and then drove to Fenwick to do some grocery shopping at Harris Teeter. Since the official beach season is starting, we needed to stock our kitchen and buy food for the weekend.

I made dinner for my mom and sister, and after eating, we went for a two-mile walk. The three of us spent the night curled up watching Aquamarine (our DVD choices are limited here…) while waiting for the rest of my siblings to arrive.

photo (11)

Are you a fan of neons?

6 thoughts on “J.Crew Vortex

Share your thoughts!

