My 21st Birthday

Admittedly, I begrudged the fact that I was sitting at a wobbly desk in calculus class taking a pop quiz on my birthday, rather than lounging under a palapa sipping a margarita, like I was this time last year.

If I couldn’t be on a beach in Mexico, then I wanted to at least be able to pretend that I was somewhere near the Caribbean. Between the warm sun beating down, the live entertainment, and the continuous flow of alcohol, it almost felt like we could have been on an island. There was sand near the children’s playground, after all.

Since this morning called for an early alarm clock and I had a math competition this afternoon (so nerdy, I know…), I wanted to have a low-key 21st birthday with my family and closest friends. Knowing that the weather forecast looked promising, I chose to go to Hightopps, an indoor/outdoor bar and grill. I was also glad that my younger siblings were able to come–Brian bought me my “first” drink!

I arrived there early to get a table on the deck, so my mom, Natalie and I ordered a round of beers while waiting for the rest of the group to join us.

Blue Moons are the perfect warm-weather beer…er, I mean, my first sip of alcohol was great.

Jen and her roommate (better now known as an extended family member), Tanya, arrived shortly after us. Two of my best friends from high school, Molly and Emily, came as well.

I wish a few of my other friends could have made it, but not being in the same state at once makes it difficult. On the other hand, it just calls for more celebrations in the future–I’ll be celebrating with my best friend from middle school in Bermuda in a few weeks (more on that later!).

Along with more drinks, we ordered several appetizers that were shared among the table.

Nothing is better than enjoying good company and simply laughing for hours!

Before leaving, I opened a few gifts that were brought to the restaurant. My mom gave me a white leather Michael Kors crossbody bag–I always steal Ali’s, so she figured I needed one of my own!

Tanya framed a picture from our trip to Ocean City last summer in a frame that matches perfectly with my new bedroom. She also gave me a glass jewelry box and a card with hand-drawn artwork! πŸ™‚

Once we finished at Hightopps, we went back to my parents’ house for dessert and presents.

My dad was working late last night so he wasn’t able to join us for drinks, but I was glad to see that he was home by the time we arrived. For dessert, we enjoyed homemade red velvet cupcakes that Ali made, and two different types of ice cream.

Purses and necklaces seemed to be a theme for my birthday presents. A family that I babysit for gifted me with a gorgeous turquoise stone necklace and my three sisters gave me a House of Harlow statement piece.

Though I technically knew about the present, I also got a Michael Kors Hamilton handbag. No birthday is complete without gag gifts–my mom was sure to give me funny things that she randomly came across, like a box of tissues for my terrible allergies and a girly luggage tag. Oh, and of course I received bottles of alcohol.

The best part about being 21 is that I no longer have to be Charlie Rhodes and can now just be Ivy Dickens (if you got the GG reference, I’m totally just kidding…).

This has been the longest post ever, but I had such an amazing day, so thank you everyone for the calls, texts, tweets, Facebook posts, and all other forms of social media in which you wished me a happy birthday!

P.S. In case you couldn’t tell already, I’ve finally taken the time to start using Instagram. Follow me if you’d like! (I don’t know how to link to my account from my computer, but my username is jimmychoosonthetreadmill.)

9 thoughts on “My 21st Birthday

  1. I had lots of fun last night! Glad you liked your necklace and handbag.. I’m sure I will be borrowing both soon in future πŸ˜‰

Share your thoughts!

