What I Ate Wednesday

A few days ago, I realized that in the midst of a hectic schedule, my daily diet became less than healthy. I was inadvertently skipping meals and dinners often consisted of veggies followed by candy. I’ve never particularly liked dinner foods–I’d much rather have a small bowl of ice cream rather than a burger–but a sugar-laden meal does not equate to a dinner, obviously.

Living a healthy lifestyle is a time-consuming commitment, though the extra effort is worth it the end. Since I’ve been making a conscious attempt to eat more balanced meals this week, I thought I would participate in “What I Ate Wednesday.” Created by Jenn of Peas and Crayons, WIAW is a way to get new ideas by sharing a day of food with others, as well as to focus on any patterns in your routine.

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast:

Thomas’ Light English Muffin with one tablespoon of chunky peanut butter (I use Trader Joe’s plain peanut butter–no sugar or salt is added) and one sliced banana on top.

Image

Snack: 

Blueberry Chobani yogurt and a small serving of pistachios.

Image

ImageLunch:A sliced apple alongside a veggie omelet made using one whole egg and 2/3 cup of egg whites. It included zucchini, onions, spinach (all sautéed in a bit of extra-virgin olive oil) and shredded mozzarella cheese.Image

I overstuffed my omelet and made it exactly like the ones that I had in Curacao, the only difference being that a chef didn’t make it for me (and there was no coconut turnover on the side…bummer).

011

I normally would have had a protein shake after my workout in the afternoon, but I skipped the gym and went to the mall instead.

Dinner:

Zucchini meatloaf and Brussels sprouts. I used 96% lean ground beef and followed this recipe pretty closely to make my meatloaf.

Zucchini Meat Loaf

source

(You do not need to see a gross-looking picture of my own meatloaf.)

Dessert:

Two blocks of Trader Joe’s 72% dark chocolate.

Image

Have you noticed any unhealthy eating habits in your daily diet lately?

Does seeing what other people eat interest you?

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. When I get super busy or stressed- my eating will start to tip to a tad unhealthy but it’s still incredibly healthy compared to others, and I’ll use that as an excuse— even though I know better!
    …..And, I tend to eat more chocolate than necessary when stressed. Oops! Happens to the best of us though, right?! 🙂

  2. That omelette looks good! I never think to make those, but I’d really enjoy that as a quick lunch or dinner alternative! And I’m sure it was pretty protein packed thanks to the eggs 🙂

    I notice my “bad” habits when I spend too many meals with my man-friend 😉 haha

  3. Gosh, I totally relate! When I get busy, making time for balanced meals has a tendency to go out the window–and my sweet tooth often overtakes my better judgment. However, your day of eats looks amazing. I LOVE making omelets for lunch! They are so perfect and filling! I also oddly love seeing what other people eat on a daily basis. I often get in food ruts and I think it helps me think outside the box!

Share your thoughts!

