An Unusual Hobby for a 20 Year Old

It’s official. I have become addicted to my iPhone. I have been downloading apps (thank you for all of the suggestions!), testing out ringtones, harassing Siri, and taking pictures nonstop for the past two days. Because it is similar to my iPad, I haven’t had much trouble figuring it out, but I’m still learning some of the basics—like that I do in fact need to fully charge it if I don’t want a dead battery by noon.

After taking a month-long hiatus from remodeling my bedroom, I finally spent some time working on it again yesterday. I finished painting all of the edges and detailed spots, then began installing the hardwood floors, with the help of my dad and brother.

photo

image

(Can you tell I already love Instagram?)

Don’t ask me why I know how to install flooring, but I do. That’s definitely not a typical 20-year-old female’s hobby.

Last week, Alexandra, a blog reader, emailed me asking about the chevron rug that I had painted. I’m creating a step-by-step guide that will hopefully be up in the next day or two. I’ve actually received a lot of questions regarding my walk-in closet in the past few months, so I’m working on a detailed post that I’ll share once my bedroom is complete as well.

image

Do you have any atypical hobbies or talents?

13 thoughts on “An Unusual Hobby for a 20 Year Old

  1. I have a pretty severe candle addiction. I’m not talking a couple candles on my coffee table, I’m talking candles covering every surface in every room of my apartment. They’re. Everywhere. I get made fun of 😉 but my place always smells amazzzzing…

  2. You want to come do some hardwood floors at my house? I will be very appreciative 🙂

    I wouldn’t say I have any unusual hobbies, but I do really enjoy working on our house a lot. There is so much satisfaction in looking at everything you have accomplished at the end of the day and gloating about it to family and friends when they come over. 🙂 We tend to be do-it-yourselfers since we are both too cheap to pay someone else to do it 🙂

  3. I am with you.. I know how to install hardwood floors, install kitchen cabinets, put up drywall, you name it I can and prob have done it 🙂 We renovated our whole house and I used to help build houses for Habitat for Humanity 🙂

    And I love doing it!

  4. Nice work! Your correct, a bit of an unusual hobby BUT everyone has something that is unusual that’s what keeps life interesting 🙂 A majoy plus is that you will be able to work on your own place later vs asking for help or hiring somebody! Savin on the $$!

  5. That is awesome that you know how to do that! I know absolutely nothing about home remodeling. I’m a computer geek,so I suppose my talent is fixing computers – hardware, software, you name it, I can fix it. I was actually a computer technician for 5 years 😉 Now I’m a sysadmin and deal mainly with servers. <— NERD 😉

Share your thoughts!

