The Beauty Closet: A Product Junkie’s Heaven

After working two 14-hour days in a row, I am sufficiently exhausted! I babysat early this morning, then ran a few errands before having to go to my internship. Getting gas was my top priority, seeing as I would have ended up stuck on the side of 695 otherwise.

no gas1

Several other interns came into the office yesterday so I had the chance to meet a few more girls. It also took the pressure off of me and helped with the process of sorting through the fashion closet.

Alicia, also a new intern, and I began the day by sorting through the samples that arrived for the beauty closet. There were so many neat products—from eyelash-thickening mascaras to nail-popping polishes. I was familiar with some of the products (some being personal favorites), but also discovered a few that I’d love to try out myself. Word is that there is a huge beauty sale at the end of the season; I will definitely be snatching up some products to sample. I love adding makeup to my collection!

DSCN7719

Alicia and I spent the rest of the day in the fashion closet, frantically unpacking a shipment of clothes. There’s a fast-approaching photo shoot, so we needed to get everything out of the boxes and organized as soon as possible. Since I was alone on Monday and had to complete the process myself, I developed a system to unload items correctly and efficiently. With Alicia’s help, we finished just before I had to leave for the day. I also met Jordan yesterday, who actually knows both of my two younger sisters. She has been interning at Girls’ Life since September as part of a high school program, so she was able to teach me a few things and help speed up the unpacking.

As soon as I arrived this morning, Alicia and I checked the shipping department and found nearly forty packages waiting for us. I haven’t had time to schedule workouts this week, but lugging the cumbersome boxes down the narrow staircase was enough to strengthen my muscles! From 9:56am until 3:12pm, Alicia, Rachel—another intern—and I continued to open packages, log the inventory, and sort the clothing.

stack of boxessource

When you have piles of boxes that literally stack up to the ceiling, sorting through clothing can be a bit daunting. On the plus side, we had so much fun ogling at the items and making lists of things that we want to order for ourselves. LuLu’s sent a shipment of practically their entire stock—I wanted everything! We received over 50 dresses and I would have easily bought 49 of them myself. I feel as if my shopping addiction may intensify as the semester progresses.

Besides slicing my finger while haphazardly opening a package, the past two days have gone extremely well. I’m not scheduled to work the next two days, but I’ve been asked to help with a photo shoot on Monday. I think it will be a lot of fun, especially since I actually randomly know one of the models!

While babysitting this afternoon, we stopped at the post office and saw this awesome painted Mercedes.

DSCN7900

DSCN7902

It had an American flag painted on the other side and was a true work of art. Pretty cool, huh?

P.S. If you didn’t see my tweet, make sure you check back tomorrow for an awesome giveaway!

tweet1

Do you fill up your gas tank before it’s on empty? I always go “one more mile”…or until I break down.

Are you a beauty product junkie? What product are you currently loving?

How do you tackle daunting tasks? Do you do it all at once or take intermittent breaks? Once I get started, I do not want to stop until I am completely finished.

20 thoughts on “The Beauty Closet: A Product Junkie’s Heaven

  1. I always go until my light turns on and then a bit more. I ran out of gas once, and now I’m paranoid. When I have a crapload of stuff to get through, I just start at one thing and keep on chugging. Next thing you know, you’re almost there.

  2. Who you could be nearly empty in car fuel terms and in energy terms! Busy busy! ……I always fill it up before it gets empty because the nearest gas station is 11 miles away and I can’t be stranded or if I have an emergency I’d be stuck!
    YAY for new make-up! It brightens my day! Giveaway?! SCORE!

  3. I ALWAYS wait until the gas light goes on… woops! I LOVE the Chanel Les 4 Ombres eye pallette… and I LOVE the Nars Orgasm! I’m more of a head-on person when it comes to getting things done. I just want to get through it so that I don’t have to think about it anymore.

    By the way, your internship sounds like it’s going to be fabulous!

  4. OMG, that is awesome! I wish you took pics of the clothes in the boxes, but that’s probably against the rules.

    I’m a total product junkie… some of my favorites are Chanel Rouge Shine lipsticks, Sugar lip conditioner, Laura Mercier baked eye shadows, the new intense Chanel mascara, Chanel pearl drop is my absolute favorite nail polish… can you tell I like Chanel lol? My other favorite make up brand is Nars!!

  5. I am SUPER neurotic about getting gas. I panic the second the light comes on!

    I just looked at LuLu’s site–on my! Those dresses are adorable! I bet it felt like Christmas opening boxes of awesome clothes! It sounds like you are crazy busy, but having fun =win win!

    Also, I am totally like you when it comes to daunting tasks–once I start, I don’t stop until I am done!

  6. I’m so bad about filling up my gas tank. There have been several occasions when I’ve had to have my husband follow me to the gas station because I’m afraid I won’t back it. When it comes down to it, if I have the choice to go home after a long day or go to the gas station, I’m gonna go home!

    Your internship looks SO amazing; I’m totally jealous that you get to be around clothes and makeup all day 🙂

Share your thoughts!

