Louboutins for Holiday Cheer

My family and I spent the afternoon yesterday cleaning up and preparing for Christmas dinner at our house. I wore yoga pants to mass and dinner last year on Christmas, so I knew I needed to go in the complete opposition direction with my outfit this year. (I was in a car accident a few days before the holiday and was in a serious funk at the time—I clearly wasn’t in the spirit of Christmas!).

I chose to wear the Badgley Mischka dress that I picked up from a consignment shop a few weeks ago. It was originally $410, but I bought it for a fraction of the cost. Considering it still had tags on it and had detailed beading, it was a steal!

IMG_0603

Beaded Navy Blue Dress: Badgley Mischka

Gray Suede Pumps: Christian Louboutin

Crystal Studded Earrings: Borrowed from Ali’s Collection

Silver Watch: Michael Kors

DSCN7527

Remember the box that arrived in the mail a few days ago? Well, I saved them to wear on Christmas Eve and had to wear them again last night. The red soles are festive, right?

DSCN7518

Natalie joked that her heels from DSW were comparable, but I argued that you can’t compete with Louboutins—especially ones with crystal-studded heels. Don’t get me wrong though, the heels were a serious splurge!

DSCN7597

By 6pm, my aunt and uncle had arrived and all twelve of us sat down to eat.

IMG_0627

I was too hungry to snap pictures of my meal, but we had quite the assortment of foods. Sheila, my dad’s niece, made a Persian dish and my mom baked a homemade lasagna. We also had a fresh Caesar salad and French baguette. I had a little bit of everything and was sufficiently full after clearing my plate!

DSCN7556

After finishing dinner, we opened presents with my aunt and uncle and took some more pictures.

DSCN7577

I loved my outfit, but a beaded dress isn’t suitable for cuddling! I changed into my new, cozy pajamas and got comfortable on the sofa while watching How the Grinch Stole Christmas. Everyone was silly by the end of the night and when I started dozing off, I knew it was time for bed.

snuggling

Overall, it was a wonderful holiday!

Do you dress up for family dinners? What do you normally wear?

Did you watch any holiday movies last night?

What do you splurge on?

45 thoughts on “Louboutins for Holiday Cheer

    • They actually weren’t that painful. They are extremely high, but height doesn’t make much of a difference for me. In my opinion, designer/expensive shoes and clothing aren’t necessarily more comfortable than “regular” items, but rather they are of much better quality. I did notice that the leather in the shoe has already started to form to my foot shape, thus making them more comfortable. The Louboutins are a tad big on me (I sized up knowing that this particular pair was cut small), so I need to get inserts which will help as well.

  1. I’m obsessed with the Badgley Mischka dress!! It’s so pretty. I probably splurge the most on purses and dresses. Not as much on clothes anymore now that I get so much from Gilt.com. Your shoes are amazing too. Did they hurt? Looks like a fun group!

    • It was a great find and has amazing detailing. I tend to splurge on handbags as well, especially soft leather ones! The shoes actually weren’t that uncomfortable. They are a tad big so my foot slid forward, but they weren’t particular painful!

  2. Oh. My. Goodness. That dress is spectacular and I am seriously speechless about your heels! AMAZING! You look GORGEOUS!!! I splurge on clothes for super special occasions and running shoes (because they prevent me from getting injured). However, my goal is to one day get a pair of Louboutin’s!

  3. Just when I was about to ask about that box you had posted… Feliz Navidad to you! They are festive, and cute, and classy, love them… Now that Santa splurged on my running shoes I will try to concentrate on saving for some red soles next year.

  4. I love those shoes!!! Oh my gosh!

    Also, you and your relatives look absolutely gorgeous. I’m glad you wrote about being half-Iranian in your book summary, because I had no idea! I am half Chinese, and I always love meeting other people who have mixed ethnicities. It’s a little something special I think!

    I don’t splurge very often and I take forever to decide on purchases (though I do love fashion). I made an exception to “splurge” on some really amazing and COMFORTABLE boots this Christmas. It wasn’t really my own splurge since they were a gift from my parents, but I still consider it to be since it’s my own family’s money…if that makes sense haha.

  5. oh goodness those shoes are to DIE for! You look gorgeous. I watched Home Alone with the family the other night. such a classic.

    I splurge on running clothes and shoes… lots and lots of shoes.

    • Thank you! Home Alone is the best! When the movie first came out, I bought it on VHS and our copy flew out of the car (long story!) and I insisted that my dad try to recover it from the middle of the highway. Needless to say, it was ruined.

  6. That dress! ❤ Those shoes! ❤ ….What a perfect outfit! 🙂 I would have felt like a princess all night long, I love clothes that make me feel special and confident! It just makes me so perky and happy- that outfit would TOTALLY do the trick! ……You and your family look stunning!

  7. Ahhh Louboutins!! Those heels are amazing! I would try and wear them every opportunity I had! 🙂 I love your dress, too. Your whole family is so fashionable! I splurge on watches and purses. B got me my first Coach purse this Christmas, and I love it!

  8. Love your outfit! Those heels are to die for … totally worth a splurge!!

    I usually dress up on Christmas Eve for midnight mass and then Christmas when I see my extended family. When I’m home with my immediate family, I totally lounge! haha.

  9. I have never found a dress that nice at our consignment shop! That’s quite a steal! I’m also in love with the pumps. I haven’t broken out any fancy shoes in a while, I definitely need to make an occasion for that!

  10. Love LOVE your heels! They are so cute!
    I always splurge on shoes and clothes too.
    My family always dress up for family dinner when it’s a holiday. I love it. 🙂

  11. LOUBS!!!!! I love them! (and that dress!)

    My post-marathon present to myself (among others) are the black patent Ron Ron Louboutins! I’m going to Vegas in Feb so I’m waiting to buy them from the Loub store!

  12. Pingback: 2011 at a Glance « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

  13. I love the crystal part of your shoes! On Christmas eve, when you were walking towards your neighbor’s house after you parked your car in the parking, I was behind you walking there in the dark and I could see some shiny little things were blinking like the stars. I couldn’t stop watching those beautiful sparkly stars till we got there and in their living room I noticed that they were crystals in your heels:)

Share your thoughts!

