Celebrating at Bond Street Social

Since I nanny for parents who are doctors and the kids’ winter break begins a week prior to Christmas, I tend to work longer hours during this time of year. Both yesterday and today was spent playing board games, watching Phineas and Ferb, and building planes out of Legos. For a change of pace today, the boys and I met up with Natalie while she was dogsitting Tank and Tillie. Luckily, we have gotten much better at walking the dogs!

As soon as I finished working yesterday, I picked Ali up from school to take her to her hair appointment. We both go to the same stylist and were both in desperate need of a haircut. With a constantly changing schedule, I had to cancel my appointment on Tuesday. I wasn’t able to re-schedule it until next week—I even tried to steal my sister’s appointment. Ironically, I happened to finish nannying a bit earlier than expected yesterday so we arrived at the salon about 15 minutes early. Being the wonderful woman that she is, our stylist managed to fit us both in!

When I came home, I made a huge batch of muddy buddies. I learned how to make these with my neighbor when I was in elementary school and I have loved making them each year ever since. I portioned the batch out and packaged them up to give as little gifts to some friends. I then quickly changed and went out the door again.

muddy buddies

To celebrate an internship offer that I received earlier in the day (keep reading!), I met up with my sister Jen, her colleague Lauren, and Lauren’s boyfriend, Sean. Derek, another colleague of Jen’s, was hosting a party at a new bar in Fells Point. Bond Street Social only opened six weeks ago but it has quickly become a popular spot in Baltimore—we were more than eager to check it out!

bond street socialsource

The party was held in a private room, but the rest of the bar and restaurant was easily accessible. I loved the atmosphere, especially the warm fireplaces that lined the walls and the twinkling lights that dimly lit the room.

bond street

Jen and I stayed until a little after midnight, then hailed a cab back to Canton since I had an early morning wake-up call. A sleepover usually isn’t complete without a girly movie, but we both fell asleep before we could even turn on the television. Thankfully, I woke up on time and my commute was hassle-free this morning.

If you follow me on Twitter, you might have seen that I received an offer for an internship. I was thrilled to accept the position and will begin working in the editorial and fashion department of Girls’ Life magazine in just over a week. Girls’ Life is the #1 magazine for 10- to 15-year-old girls and its headquarters are in Baltimore, which is really cool!

GL mag

I am so excited to have the opportunity to work in the magazine industry as it has always been an interest of mine.

When was the last time you celebrated? What were you celebrating?

Have you ever had an internship? What was it like?

18 thoughts on “Celebrating at Bond Street Social

  1. Yay! Congrats, Colleen!! That sounds like a great opportunity (and a lot of fun!). I found out this week that I passed my boards, so we have a lot to celebrate next month! 🙂

  2. Congratulations!! Thats so exciting. I hope you have a blast at your internship. I always thought it would be fun to work in the magazine industry (Self, fitness, runners world) but its super competitive. So well done on your first step!

  3. Pingback: 2011 at a Glance « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

  4. Congratulations! That’s so exciting! When are you going to start the internship and how long are you going to stay?

    I’m going to start a magazine internship as part of my studies soon, too.

  5. Pingback: Retro Birthday Bash | Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

Share your thoughts!

