The Secret of the Sequined Skirt

Nestled between wool skirts and hidden behind closed closet doors hangs my new obsession: a sequined, bubble skirt.

DSCN7087

For the past few years, I have held off from purchasing a sequined skirt because I could never find one that was just right. Every skirt that I have come across has been either too long, too up-and-down, or too cheaply made. I was shopping online the other week when this particular skirt caught my eye. I visited Gap’s website intending to buy pants for my brother, but my attention was immediately redirected.

I clicked on the advertisement while praying that it was in stock and in my size. Then I realized that I was shopping in the children’s section. Noooooo! Unwilling to accept the facts, I couldn’t stop myself from checking the availability anyway. Similar to when I buy an article of clothing in a much larger size than usual (because it is the only one), I figured what the hell? I had to have it.

So, I bought the little girls’ skirt and nearly died when it actually fit! The best part of all is that I got it for under $40. I tried to find it online, but it seems like the skirt is now completely sold out. Luckily, Melina of .but I like it, also thinks that it is totally acceptable to wear children’s clothing.

sequin skirt 1

source

It looks adorable on her; I can’t wait to wear mine both dressed-up and dressed-down.

sequin skirt 2

source

[As an adult], have you ever bought anything from the children’s section?

Do you own a sequined skirt? What is your favorite way to wear it?

24 thoughts on “The Secret of the Sequined Skirt

  1. The sequined skirt is perfect for the holidays! I buy items from the kid’s section when I can because it’s cheaper, especially for sports team apparel. I actually saved money recently by buying children’s snow pants for my upcoming ski trip at the outlets! By the way, your posts made me want to organize my closet. That is on my to-do list after my exam!

  2. i saw a to die for sequined skirt at loft the other day– black, perfect swing to it, satin elastic waist. but i declined because it was still $70 and for the amount of times i’d wear it, i didn’t think it was worth it. plus, i’m in the process of losing weight and didn’t want it to get ridiculously big, since the waist was already a smidge big. so i decided to wait until it goes on sale online, but it’s now completely sold out online. and i am sequined skirt-less.

    • I would have held off on the skirt, too. The problem with anything embellished in sequins is that the material is extremely delicate, making it expensive, but not worth it in the end. Congratulations on losing weight! That’s awesome! I can almost guarantee that if you look hard enough, you’ll be able to snatch up a sequined skirt after the holidays!

  3. I regularly buy things from the children’s department. It is kind of a problem. Chase finally put a restriction on the habit when we kept running into 8-year-olds that had the same sweater–awkward. 🙂

    I LOVE sequins, but have yet to purchase clothing with them–only shoes for right now.

  4. Such a cute sequin skirt! It’s perfect for the holiday. I’m trying to find one as well. I never tried shopping for clothes in the kid’s section, but I would just for that sequin skirt! 🙂

  5. I worked at Limited too (now I guess it’s Justice?) when I was in high school & would always buy random clothing from there! I guess technically I wasn’t an “adult” but still definitely out of their target market! You know the old saying… if the sequined skirt fits, wear it… or something like that! 😉

Share your thoughts!

