A Carrie Bradshaw-Approved Closet

My blog is generally a positive place, so to lighten the mood after my last post, I’m going to share a peek inside my current project. My brother recently switched bedrooms and now that his old room is vacant, I have the freedom to do what I please with it. Naturally, transforming it into a walk-in closet immediately came to mind. I hope to make it into a closet that would win Carrie Bradshaw’s approval, even if I don’t have my own Big to create it for me.

I first cleaned out the entire room, vacuuming every crevice, dusting the corners, mopping the floor, and scrubbing the walls. Once the room was spotless, I covered the floor and began painting two coats of primer on the walls.

DSCN7075

Since I knew re-designing the room would be a tedious task, I decided to start small. I painted the interior of the pre-existing closet and disinfected the wire rack. I needed to take a break from dripping globs of paint on myself, so I set up and organized the space.

DSCN7088

DSCN7083{A pair of red pumps can brighten any day, I swear.}

DSCN7087 {I’m obsessed with my new sequined skirt that cost next to nothing—more on that later.}

DSCN7081 {Stripes line my wardrobe. Can you tell?}

Unfortunately, after I organized the only visually-appealing part of the room, I had to finish painting the edges. I held a steady hand to ensure that the primer was coated evenly, but the closer to the ceiling I got, the more I realized that it needed to be painted as well. My brother had a loft bed and he found it rather amusing to draw on the ceiling above him. Eventually, the room was all set for an actual color!

This afternoon, I met my dad at Lowe’s to check out closet systems and paint samples. I didn’t find exactly what I wanted, so we headed to Home Depot. I originally planned on painting the room a dark gray and buying a white closet system, but my plans changed once I started looking around.

Lowe's

Home Depot had a limited stock—they had the closet system that I liked, only it was the wrong color. After much deliberation, I decided on a dark brown shelving organizer. Instead of dark gray, I chose a lighter shade of gray. I painted the room as soon as I came home and am now waiting for it to dry!

I also wanted to mention that I wrote a guest post for Pam of Pamcakes and Coffee! I created a guide and shared some gift ideas, most of which are personal favorites of mine. Be sure to check out her blog to see the detailed items!

Gifts for a Fashionista 1

Do you ever do home projects by yourself? What was your last project?

What would your dream closet look like?

19 thoughts on “A Carrie Bradshaw-Approved Closet

  1. Oh. My. Gosh.

    Are you in my room right now? I’ve been cleaning all night and then I was like “I really need to get more shelves in my closet” and I seriously thought about going to Lowes, but then I was like, “Oh, it’s like 11pm, they’re probbbbably not open.”

    And then I read this post!!! I seriously need some shelves.

    Did my comment make any sense? I think I’m sleep deprived. Or exhausted from bagging up clothes for goodwill…

  2. I’ve been looking for a pair of leopard flats like those for a long time! Where did you find them? Since I recently moved back home, my closest is in major need or organization! I could really use some tips! After this exam, there are a lot of craft projects I want to do which I saw on Pinterest! 🙂

    • I actually found them at Cheapskate, a consignment shop near me. However, they were flats that the store had ordered and were not one-of-a-kind. I will see if I can find them online for you!

      I love re-doing my closet because it makes it so much easier to pick out outfits!

  3. OMG so jealous that you have that room! You have a wardrobe that is deserving of that space, though, and I do not 🙂 I’m not one for home projects because I get intimidated easily, but perhaps a little practice would help me.

  4. I LOVE this and I can’t wait to see the entire finished product! Literally I’m so jealous. San Francisco apartments are not conducive to this. PS – Those Tory clogs? LOVE!

  5. Your closet look wonderful! You did a great job. I wish mine look that neat. Also love your sequin skirt!! It’s so cute. Where did you got it at? I would love to know. 🙂

  6. Congratulations! That closet looks INCREDIBLE! You most be soo excited!!! My closet right now is a whole bunch of laundry baskets. We keep moving, and I just can’t get it together yet with all the holdiay travel thrown in. The last few years my roommate had an extra bedroom in our apartment where we had a shared “dress closet.” Man, as much as I love my husband — I miss living with a girl my size!!

Share your thoughts!

