Stylish Looks for the Winter

The weather in Baltimore this past November has been unusually mild, meaning that I hadn’t thought twice about winter clothing until a reader requested a fashion post. With the exception of Sunday, when I went to church early in the morning, I still have yet to wear my wool coats. However, today’s dreary and cold weather is making me think that I’ll be bundling up pretty soon.

It can be a challenge in the winter months to create an outfit that is warm, yet still stylish. Layering is key when it’s cold outside; I like to pair basic pieces with trendier items. I invested in a faux-fur vest last year and I absolutely love it. For an effortless look, simply throw it on top of a white oxford and a thick cardigan.

WC1

Season-inappropriate pieces can be transformed by adding a few layers. Wearing a turtleneck underneath a shift dress is one of my favorite looks—in fact, I wore nearly the same outfit in the fall. Just be sure to also wear seasonal items, like a scarf and boots, so that the dress won’t look like it should be worn in August, and not December.

WC2

It’s no secret that I gravitate towards stripes, especially when it comes to sweaters. They add a fun and whimsical element to any outfit.  When I don’t want to wear a bulky coat, I’ll pile on a chunky cardigan and a blazer instead. I can’t resist skirts in the winter, but I always make sure that I have a pair of tights to go along with it!

WC3

How do you like to dress during the winter months?

26 thoughts on “Stylish Looks for the Winter

  1. I love all of the outfits!!! They all look super cute! I especially love outfit number 3!!

    I love wearing boots, thick chunky sweater, scarf and jeggings the most. 🙂

  2. I’m a big dress or wool mini, tights, boots and sweater for work , and a jeggings, booties and an button down/crewneck kinda girl for weekends. I also think that Mulberry Bayswater bag would go perfect with ANYTHING – sweatpants included. I want I want I want!

    • I found mine at Loft, though it wasn’t easy! Luckily, I know one of the store managers and she was nice enough to call several different locations to find the dress in my size–it was sold out everywhere, but she ended up giving me the one on display!

  3. good to know I am not the only one who wears skirts and dresses all year round! : ). Sometimes I have received strange remarks for it.

  4. Oo love the 3rd outfit! It’s been warmer than usual here too and I’m still wearing fall jackets. Hey, I’ll take fall coats over freezing weather anyday.

  5. Love these ideas! The weather in the northeast has certainly been tricky lately… cold one day, 65* the next! I’m definitely all about staying warm throughout winter. I’m someone that is ALWAYS cold, so when it’s actually cold out I’m freezing if I’m not all bundled up!

  6. I am obsessed with stripes right now! Gosh, they look so classic! I also just bought another wool toggle coat–LOVE it! I adore toggles. 🙂 I am also loving all the camel colors–I need to invest in a few new wardrobe pieces. Yay!

  7. I wish I could come up with outfits like these on my own! I honestly wear leggings, boots, and long sweaters/cardigans most of the winter. I need to change it up! By the way, your post will be up in the morning! My scarf should also be here any day now! 🙂

Share your thoughts!

