What to Wear to Thanksgiving Dinner

With Thanksgiving less than a week away, I can’t help but to think about the holidays nonstop. Celebrating with family and friends means tasty food, cheerful attitudes (most of the time at least), and pretty clothing. I always look forward to wearing festive skirts and holiday-appropriate nail polishes from November to January because let’s face it, sequins do make the cold months a little bit warmer.

In case you’re at a loss of what to wear to this year’s Thanksgiving dinner, here are a few ideas that will hopefully help.

TG4

I don’t need to tell you again—sequins are ideal for celebrations. Paired with a crisp, white button-down and classic black, suede heels, this skirt will be the highlight of the outfit without looking too overdone.

TG1

I love colorful wool pants because they are warm enough to wear during the winter months and because they can be dressed up or down. A delicate blouse and colorblock pumps pulls this outfit together, but you can easily use items in your closet to recreate this look.

TG2

For a more casual look, you can’t go wrong with a neutral sweater dress and riding boots. Add some bold jewelry and a fun coat for a pop of color.

Above all, my number one tip for dressing for the occasion is to wear a dress–or bottoms with an elastic waistband. Unless of course you plan to only have one dinner plate and skip dessert. But who would do that?

What do you like to wear during the holidays?

If you celebrate Thanksgiving, is your family’s gathering casual or formal?

 

23 thoughts on “What to Wear to Thanksgiving Dinner

  1. I lovee the third outfit, but I’m wondering where your inspiration comes from on the first and second? The second has a very interesting color scheme.

    • For the first outfit, I wanted a very feminine look. Sequins immediately come to mind when I think of the holidays–mainly New Years. However, I think a sequined skirt is the perfect option for dinner with family and friends when it is paired with a simple top. A white button-down is a classic item that most people have in their closets, so if you splurge on a pretty skirt, you can save money by pulling a top from your wardrobe. I always like to get dressed up, so I think this would be a good choice for those who like a very girly look.

      As always, I like my outfits to be attainable and effortless. For the second look, I really wanted an outfit that could be easily put together by combining pieces in your closet. It’s a look that most working women (assuming that they have a business-casual dress code) could recreate. A flowy blouse paired with tailored pants is simple. To avoid looking too “stuffy,” I like the idea of using pops of color–the warm colors of the clutch and pants pair nicely together. With that being said, black pants would work just as well. The idea behind this look is that you don’t need to go shopping–you use what you already have.

  2. I would love to wear the first outfit! I love sequin skirts and pairing it with a light white shirt. Super cute. 🙂

  3. Ah if only I had style!! I love the skirt in the first pic. Usually I dress very simple and classic, but I always bring pajamas with me to curl up in for the ride home!

  4. Cute outfits! I have to figure out what I’m packing to bring home for Thanksgiving. I’m going to the outlets tomorrow, so I’m sure I can find something festive! I just saw your comment about your sister. That’s awesome! I was JMU ’09! 🙂

  5. Ahhh! I love all of these options! That coat is adorable! Holy Smokes!I am brainstorming my Thanksgiving outfit, but I am sure it will be far lacking in your flawless style! I also have GOT to add some sequin sparkle to my holiday options.

  6. I am in serious love with each and every one of those outfits! *LOVE, love, LOVE* these looks! …..My family thanksgiving is super casual, darn, I would love the chance to dress up for something other than school and church! ….I should pin these to an “I neeeeeeed” board on pinterest!

  7. I love that sequin skirt! To me, the holidays are a good time to experiment with fashion. That’s probably because I’m around family and they are less likely to judge me! (:

  8. I love the sequin look for the holidays this year! J Crew has really cute sequin tanks that would look great tucked into a skirt with a cardigan.

  9. Please come dress me every day. Thank you 🙂

    I am definitely re-creating the sweater dress, riding boots and statement necklace on Thursday – so classic and preppy, I love! 🙂

    That sequin skirt is a close second – I JUST got one at Nordies and I’m saving that for a Christmas party!

Share your thoughts!

