The Bright Side to Marathon Training

Sadly, I’m driving to the airport right now to catch my flight to Miami then to Baltimore, but I have a guest post ready from Kristine. Kristine is hilarious, and I know that if we met in real life, we would get along perfectly! We share many of the same interests and her posts are always fun to read. Thanks, Kristine!

Hi, everyone! I’m Kristine, a 20-something living in San Francisco and I blog over at Running on Hungry. When Colleen asked me to do a guest post while she was living it up in paradise this week, I jumped at the chance!

GP4

I started reading Colleen’s blog a while back and I absolutely love it. I love that it combines recipes, workouts, life, shopping, and (most importantly) first-hand celebrity gossip. How many other people do you know that get to work behind the scenes at New York Fashion Week? Answer: Zero. Sorry People.com, Colleen is my new #1 source.

A few months ago I made the decision to sign up and train for a full marathon. This coming from the girl who swore up and down she would never again run 13.1 miles, let alone 26.2. Adult beverages may have had something to do with the decision, but either way, with exactly 18 weeks and 2 days until the Marathon, I handed over my credit card information like there was a flash sale at Tory Burch and I was in.

While there are some definite downsides to marathon training (waking up at 7am or earlier to get 20 miles in on a Saturday morning when you’d rather be eating brunch and drinking coffee) I think the benefits far outweigh them.

  • Eating. A LOT.

GP3

I’m constantly hungry. I wake up hungry, I’m hungry 10 minutes after I eat a meal, and regardless of dinner/dessert size (there’s always dessert) I go to bed hungry. While marathon training isn’t a license to eat junk or whatever you want (which I wouldn’t recommend because you’ll probably feel sick when you run), there’s definitely a lot of leverage to eat more, and eat more often.

  • Shopping.

GP2

Since starting to marathon train, I go out… a lot less. I can’t be out until 2am spending money on drinks, cabs, late-night pizza, etc when I have to be up at 6:30am to run 18 miles. Ergo, extra disposable income!

  • Completely justified weekly pedicures.

GP1

Marathon training wreaks havoc on your feet. I’m talking gnarly runners feet that no one wants to look at. What’s better after a double-digit training run than getting your feet pampered, massaged and beautified? You can’t very well run on sore feet now can you?

So if you’re toying around with the idea of signing up for a half or full marathon, I’m pretty sure these benefits are what you need to push you over the edge! Smile

Thanks Colleen for asking me to guest post, I hope you have a wonderful vacation!!

Feel free to come visit me over at Running On Hungry!

5 thoughts on “The Bright Side to Marathon Training

  1. Pingback: It’s Freezing. | runningonhungrydotcom

Share your thoughts!

