A Trip to Willemstad

Yesterday, we spent a few hours in the sun before going to Willemstad, the capital of Curacao. While we were walking through the hotel lobby on our way out, a man asked if he could photograph us. Bart was the photographer for the wedding that was taking place this evening and he wanted to test the lighting beforehand. We willingly agreed to be his subject matter as he snapped away with his camera.

DSCN6311 exposed

He also taught us a few basics of photography, pointing out that lighting is key for a beach landscape. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: I’m an awful photographer. However, it was neat to see a professional photographer in action and to learn a couple of tricks.

Once our photo shoot was over, we piled in the car and drove about twenty minutes to the downtown area of Curacao. Along the way, we absorbed the sights and noted the patterns that we saw throughout the island. Colorful buildings and houses line the streets—who wouldn’t want such an adorably painted home?!

DSCN6313

church

A lagoon divides Willemstad into two parts: Punda and Otrabanda. We first explored Punda, checking out the beautiful artwork, handmade jewelry, and local vendors.

DSCN6319

DSCN6320

DSCN6326

DSCN6330

DSCN6332

DSCN6338

DSCN6342

DSCN6343

For dinner, we ate at the Iguana Café, which is located directly on the water. We loved watching the sun set behind the horizon as boats passed by in front of us.

DSCN6353

DSCN6360

Natalie and I split a cheeseburger, which was cooked perfectly. Jen and my mom ordered authentic dishes, which were also delicious.

DSCN6365

IMG_0272

When we finished up dinner, we took a ferry to the other side of Willemstad. We walked around for a little bit, then headed back to our resort.

DSCN6367

DSCN6369

DSCN6377

Natalie and I both have serious sweet tooths, so we convinced Jen and my mom to get gelatos for dessert. I chose the Baileys Irish Cream flavor and the coconut flavor with Bounty pieces (a candy similar to Mounds) in it.

DSCN6382

Though it melted quickly, we thoroughly enjoyed our treats on the terrace as a live band was playing music next to us. Overall, it was a fun night seeing a bit of Curacao’s culture!

If you could paint the exterior of your house in a creative way, what would you do?

Do you enjoy eating foods from other cultures?

7 thoughts on “A Trip to Willemstad

  1. I LOVE all of the colors! Everything is so bright and beautiful! If I lived in a tropical place, I would want a BRIGHT house! However, I don’t feel like I could find a teal house in Bethesday…and I know Chase would NOT go for it! 🙂

    I love trying local foods–however with my gluten intolerance and seafood allergy I am always limited. Boooo! But I do ALWAYS dive into local produce! 🙂 That gelato looks divine!

  2. cute post! yay, you finally found the row of colorful houses!/hotel….? awkward..haha well have fun!! see you in TWO days! trip is almost over, so enjoyyyyyy 🙂

  3. I love the bright tropical colors!! I would love to have a house that was yellow, green, and orange. Those colors make me so happy!!
    I love totally immersing myself in the other culture’s food. I always try what the place is famous for, and I try to find the best place you can get it! I have to say, Sangria in Spain can’t be beat!!

Share your thoughts!

