Cookie Dough Oatmeal and Celebrity Hacker

Every couple of months, I get a craving for oatmeal. I have tried oatmeal on several different occasions, and it is very rare that I actually enjoy it. I remember mixing chocolate protein powder into a bowl of oatmeal during a senior retreat in high school and loving it. Then again, I think it was only because I was starving (I refused to eat the mysterious food that was being served, just to spite my religion teacher—but that’s a whole different story).

I get full fairly easily, so the idea of a voluminous bowl of oats is not appealing to me. I prefer to eat frequent, small meals because I’ve always been a grazer. When I saw Katie’s recipe for cookie dough oatmeal a few months ago, I made it right away then bookmarked the page. It ended up being the perfect breakfast this morning, especially since it was rather chilly in Baltimore.

DSCN5920

Baked Cookie Dough Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats (50g)
  • 1 packet Stevia (or any other sweetener)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup natural applesauce (60g)
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon dark chocolate chips

DSCN5919

1. Preheat the oven to 380º. Spray a small ramekin with nonstick cooking spray.

2. Mix together the dry ingredients and then the wet ingredients.

3. Fold in chocolate chips.

4. Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes (or longer if you want it more cake-like).

5. Broil on high for 2 minutes to lightly brown the top. .

I made the recipe based on my preferences and though it was good, it had a bit of a weird taste (maybe it was the Stevia?). I planned on making some egg whites along with the oatmeal, but I became increasingly full as I ate it. I’m feeling hungry again, so I’m sure I’ll be back in the kitchen soon!

As I was eating my breakfast, I caught a segment on the Today show that raised my attention. Today’s professionals were discussing a topic that has recently been in the headlines; if convicted, the Florida celebrity internet hacker, Christopher Chaney, could face up to 121 years in prison. Star Jones, Donny Deustch, and Dr. Nancy Snyderman all had different viewpoints on the topic, arguing over the proper punishment for the hacker.

today showsource

Not only did Chaney break the law by hacking into over 50 entertainment celebrities’ personal accounts, but what he did is also morally incorrect. I think 121 years is a tad harsh, but Star Jones seemed to feel that it was fair. How do you stand on this crime? Do you think his sentence is more severe because it involves famous people?

Are you a fan of oatmeal?

What did you have for breakfast this morning?

22 thoughts on “Cookie Dough Oatmeal and Celebrity Hacker

  1. I’m not a big fan of oatmeal. Id rather have a bowl of crunchy cereal. I like oatmeal when I get everything just right, but that’s rare! I also like it in the form of a fitnessista breakfast cookie. Ive never tried baked oatmeal though, so I’ll have to give it a shot!

  2. Ok this looks SO good. Seriously I’m going to go make it right now. ha, no joke. It’s 10PM but hey, when a craving calls, a craving calls. Thanks for the delicious idea. But k I feel stupid for asking this but I can’t figure out what you put on the top. Is it ice cream? or whipped cream or something else? ha I can’t figure it out for the life of me!

    As for the sentence, I agree I think 121 years is a bit over the top. I think more like 20 years would be a good sentencing.

    • I hope you made it and enjoyed it, even if it was 10pm! Don’t feel dumb–I actually get this question all the time with my recipe posts! I put a scoop of Cool Whip on top! Everyone always guesses that it is ice cream! I like putting a small amount of Cool Whip on top so that it can melt and add an extra touch of sweetness.

  3. Frequent small meals is the way to go! This baked oatmeal looks delicious – I love that you added a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. YUM!

  4. I used to like oatmeal, but oatmeal did not like me! It does not sit well in my stomach!

    I agree with you about the punishment for the celebrity stalker. I don’t understand why the prison time for him is 121 years, yet sexually assaulting someone has a penalty of (at most) 25 years.

  5. I have not been into oatmeal lately… i think i had a reallllly dry one and couldn’t get my taste back for it just yet!

    I think 121 years is way dramatic… Yes, he invaded privacy but he didnt assault anyone!

Share your thoughts!

