Pumpkin Pie French Toast

Okay, it’s seriously way too cold outside for only being October 2nd. While yesterday’s weather was characteristic of the fall season in Maryland, today is just unbearable. I found myself reaching for my fuzzy socks when I woke up, so I knew a warm breakfast was necessary.

I decided that I would make French toast when I saw an entire loaf of bread sitting in our bread drawer. I was feeling particularly creative and thought that my family would enjoy a fall-flavored version: pumpkin pie French toast. I started throwing things into a bowl and became a little hesitant when I saw that the bread was sticking to the griddle, but I received rave reviews from my siblings and my parents.

DSCN5832

Being that Brian can be picky at times, I was astonished when he said, “Oh my gosh, this is so good,” (with a mouth full of food). I will definitely be making this recipe again sometime soon, though I have a few other ideas that I think will help make it taste even better. Plus, now that it’s officially October, I can start going crazy with the pumpkin-flavored foods.

Pumpkin Pie French Toast (serves two)

  • 4 slices whole wheat bread
  • 1 cup pure pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1 whole egg
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • pumpkin pie spice to taste

DSCN5829

1. Warm griddle or skillet to medium-high heat. Spray generously with nonstick cooking spray.

2. In a shallow bowl, whisk together the pure pumpkin, milk, egg, brown sugar, and pumpkin pie spice.

3. Dredge the slices of bread in the pumpkin mixture.

4. Cook the slices of bread for about two minutes on each side, or until browned.

 

Oh, and topping it with Cool Whip made it taste exactly like pumpkin pie, so don’t skimp.

Be back later with a recap of my fun afternoon!

What’s your favorite pumpkin-flavored recipe?

10 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie French Toast

Share your thoughts!

