Boy Crazy

Because it was the Jewish holiday, Rosh Hashanah, most schools were closed yesterday. I was babysitting Maddie and Luke, two kids that I started babysitting when I was in high school. While Luke went to a friend’s house, Maddie’s neighbor, Annie, came over to hang out. I babysit many more boys than girls, so it’s always nice to be painting nails rather than rolling around in the mud playing football. Okay, let’s be real. I don’t play football. Or roll around in mud.

Being that Maddie and Annie are in 8th grade, I was hanging out with them more than I was actually babysitting them, which is always fun. The girls went to a nearby park to play lacrosse for an hour, but when they came home for lunch, they were acting a bit giddy. When I saw that they were practically choking on their quesadillas and apple slices because they were eating so quickly, I knew that they were up to something.

I pried to no avail, then Maddie ran up the stairs and changed her outfit. Meanwhile, Annie took her hair out of a ponytail and did a swift hair fluff. Clearly, something was up. Within minutes, seven boys were eagerly waiting outside. At that point, all of the pieces came together and I couldn’t help but laugh. The girls shrieked with excitement, but as soon as they went outside, they ran back in to tell me how awkward it was.

With a few words of encouragement, I calmed the girls’ nerves and they were back to oohing over the cute boys. After the boys left (which was only a short while later because one of the boy’s mothers called him and discovered that he was not where he was supposed to be), the girls gave me the 411 on the middle school romances.

Crushing on boys and getting trapped in love triangles was all too familiar to me—I remember being their age and plotting a way to secretly hang out with boys at the movies or in one of my friend’s neighborhoods. Unlike some other 13 year olds, I wasn’t a serial dater, but I did have three boyfriends over the course of middle school. You know, we would message each other on AIM, occasionally see each other in school, and if we had enough courage, dance with each other at mixers. What a mature relationship.

Spear-Cartoon_3594

I was recently going through old keepsakes in my bedroom when I came across a box full of notes that my friends and I passed to each other in class (was that not the best part of grade school or what?). Nostalgia got the best of me and I just had to read a few; I read an especially funny note from my best friend, Molly. Naturally, it was about a boy, my boyfriend, to be exact.

In the note, Molly explained to me that my boyfriend was hiding from me all day because he had heard a rumor that I was going to break up with him. I guess he thought that if I couldn’t find him, I couldn’t break up with him. See how simple dating is when you’re 13? If you like a boy and he likes you, you’re automatically an item. If you don’t want to get dumped, simply hide.

Spear Cartoon 3788

After sharing some stories about their dramatic love lives, Maddie and Annie gushed about their tennis instructor, whom they insisted that I meet. They knew three crucial things about him: that he’s cute, smart, and athletic. Apparently that’s all you need to know about a guy. Maybe they’re on to something? The girly afternoon continued when we picked up frappuccinos at Starbucks, drove around with the windows down, sunroof open, and Katy Perry blasting, and broke the no cellphone policy at the country club by taking silly pictures. They then deemed me “the best babysitter ever.” Hey, sometimes it’s fun to act like a boy-crazed, Justin Beiber-loving middle schooler.

frapp

source

madds 1

madds 2

Last night, Natalie and I met up with a few of her friends at The Greene Turtle. We arrived early so that we could all catch up and once again, talk about boys. Even though I’m a few years older, I always enjoy hanging out with my sister and offering my wealth of knowledge. Winking smile

I ran into a few of my sorority sisters and some old friends—I love seeing familiar faces—but the highlight of the night? Learning that Natalie and her friend Gina saw their high school math teacher bartending. Now that’s funny.

Happy Weekend!

Did you have a “boyfriend” at a young age?

Were you boy-crazy in middle school, or could you care less?

Any fun plans this weekend?

11 thoughts on “Boy Crazy

  1. I had a boyfriend in middle school who lived down the road from me in our subdivision. Our entire relationship communication consisted of passing notes back and forth through each others mailboxes. Despite the fact that we went to the same school, during that time we never spoke to each other at school. When it ended-he broke up with me-I was so angry that I found a dead snake on the ground (a small one) and continued our communication via mailbox…and stuck it in there for a “take that!”
    Btw-LOVE your blog. Just stumbled across it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Kids Tell Me I’m Weird « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

Share your thoughts!

