25 Things You Don’t Know About Me

Sally Anne and Natalie have encouraged me to share my list of 25 things that most people don’t know about me. Here we go!

1. I’ve never read a Harry Potter book or seen one of the movies.

2. When I was in elementary school, I would take showers in the middle of the night (I would go to bed at a normal hour, wake up at 3am, shower, then go back to sleep. Why my parents let me do this, I do not know.).

3. I’ve had a Blackberry since I was 15. I am an addict.

4. Disney World does not give me a magical feeling.

5. I don’t like going in water even though I have a pool and a beach house.

coll ali in water 1

6. I almost always trace over everything that I write to make it bold.

7. I love playing practical jokes. For almost the entire year in 9th grade, I had my friends convinced that I owned a pet iguana. My partner in crime and I mailed a fake letter from Teen Vogue to one of my friends; I then made everyone believe that she had written a poem about soup and won a contest.

8. My dad coached my soccer team almost every year and he once kicked me off the field for being disruptive.

9. I watched The Parent Trap every day after school in 7th grade.

parent trap

10. I’ve fainted so many times (12 times to be exact), that I can foresee when I will faint.

11. My leg once got caught in a storm drain in Iran–as in I was wedged between two rusty, metal bars and had to be hoisted out.

storm drain

source

12. At my high school graduation, I convinced my classmates to throw their caps in the air as I was the first one to do so (at my all girls, private, Catholic high school, throwing our caps up was strictly prohibited and perceived as un-ladylike).

grad1

(Awful candid shot, but ten points to whoever can pick me out in the group.)

13. When I was 12, I had a handbag company, Hot Dots, with three of my friends. We even covered ourselves in polka dots to promote ourselves on Halloween. I’m slightly embarrassed.

14. From 2004 to 2006, I collected every single magazine that Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen were featured in. Oh, and I definitely didn’t read the magazines once then seal them up in individual Ziploc bags. They’ll be worth something one day. Just wait and see.

MKandA

source

15. In middle school, I regularly cut our lawn using a tractor. Then we hired grass cutters. I swear it had nothing to do with my ability to mow the grass.

16. I’ve never played an instrument.

17. I was sent to the principal’s office in 3rd grade for selling my own version of the school newspaper. It was more of a gossip column.

gossip

18. I’ve never taken a deep-end test in a swimming pool.

19. Mints and chocolate both make me sneeze.

20. I once told my neighbor that I couldn’t play with her that afternoon because I had to wash my bike. World’s worst lie. Ever.

21. Cal Ripken was my basketball coach in 8th grade.

cal ripken

source

22. I saved my brother from choking on chicken by performing the heimlich maneuver. Please note that I do not actually know how to properly perform it, I just shook him around in the air. He was eight.

23. I had lunch detention at least once a week in 6th grade for chewing gum in class.

24. My bedroom walls are only painted 95% of the way. My parents let me paint my room myself when I was 13 and I couldn’t reach to the ceiling, so I never finished painting the walls to the top.

25. On a family trip to Florida, I went missing. Obviously, I was later found.

Which fact is the most surprising?

What are some things that people don’t know about you? Name as many as you’d like!

12 thoughts on “25 Things You Don’t Know About Me

  1. Great list!

    10) I cannot believe you have fainted that much! What makes you faint? I actually have always wanted to faint. I feel like it would be an interesting experience. (I clearly have too much time on my hands!)

    11) YOU GOT STUCK IN A STORM DRAIN?!?!?! I would have died from fear. I HATE having my foot stuck in anything.

    21) I cannot believe you had Cal Ripken as a coach!?!??! You have met so many celebrities. I am 100% green with envy!

    23) In high school (All-Girls, Catholic. Woohoo!) I never got 1 detention, so I asked for one during the last week of senior year and my teacher refused to give me detention. I proceeded to open a stick of gum right in front of him and stick it in my mouth. Needless to say, I got my detention.

    • Thanks!

      10. I faint SO easily! If I get grossed out or am in pain, blood doesn’t properly circulate and it results in me fainting! It’s awful–you do not want to experience it!

      11. Oh, yes. I had a massive cut on my leg and was crying…plus, we were in Iran, so it wasn’t very easy trying to find tissues and bandages.

      21. Yup! His kids went to schools in the area and his daughter, Rachel, played basketball in the same league as me.

      23. Hahaha, you are too much. My sister did a similar thing in 8th grade! Lucky for me, I earned my detentions all on my own. 😉

  2. I went to an all girls school too, but mine was Episcopal. We definitely threw our graduation caps in the air though. They take picture of us doing it out on the front lawn and it’s always the cover of the graduation issue of our school magazine. I don’t like being in the water either and I too was obsessed with MK&A. I definitely bought every magazine they were on too!

  3. That is so cool that Cal Ripken was your basketball coach!! My sister would freak out if I told her that. I have to agree with you on the water. I have a pool, but the only time I ever use it is to do pool running if I’m injured. At the same time, one of my goals is to complete an ironman one day…. crap!

  4. you are hilarious! i swear with all your businesses and fake newspapers you would definitely be able to run an empire one day! i was obsessed with MK&A as a kid. Brother for Sale was definitely on replay on my cassette player haha

Share your thoughts!

