Weight and Size Controversy

After reading through the comments on this post, it seems like the general consensus is that you have to go up two sizes at H&M. I agree that that is generally true, but I also find that I can wear some items in my normal size, making it extremely difficult for me to shop there. The bottom line is that although the sizes are not true to size, you can usually find some great pieces at H&M with a little extra effort.

This post also caused a bit of controversy, so I want to broach the topic head-on. It seems as if my message was entirely misconstrued; the name Shamu was not intended to offend anyone—quite the opposite actually. I was poking fun at myself while attempting to convey a powerful message.

blog comment

On my blog, I strive to encourage people to lead a healthy lifestyle. Women of all sizes are beautiful, but there is a difference between being a size 10 and being healthy and being a size 10 and being unhealthy. With that being said, a number on an itchy tag alone cannot determine one’s health. As the reader pointed out, you can be a larger size but still be skinny. I completely agree; everyone person’s body type is different, so size does not matter.

What does matter is whether or not someone is healthy. There are several factors that play a role in determining one’s level of health, which is why weight, body mass index, body composition, and physical endurance are all taken into account. Just because someone is thin and looks healthy, does not mean that that person necessarily is healthy. You can be skinny but also be at risk of osteoporosis, diabetes, and heart disease. Maybe you don’t gain weight from eating processed foods on a consistent basis, but does that mean that you won’t develop any diseases? In opposition, it cannot be assumed that someone with a higher body mass index is overweight. A professional athlete is bound to have a higher weight and thus a higher BMI than a non-athlete, but he or she is obviously in top shape.

BMI

Going back to H&M, my reason behind commenting on their sizing scale is that I think it has a negative impact on women. Most women fixate on the size of a dress or on the number on a scale. My point is that those numbers shouldn’t have an effect on us; I exercise on a regular basis, eat fresh foods as much as possible, and am at a healthy weight for my height, so I shouldn’t be disheartened when I have to buy a size 8 dress.

Though I am not an expert, I have researched this particular subject a significant amount. I am very passionate about health and nutrition, and all of these opinions are my own. I’ll stop here to avoid completely boring everyone, but I just had to express my thoughts. I am deeply sorry if I offended anyone in any sort of way; that is never my objective. I aim to have an upbeat and positive blog, and most of what I say is meant to be humorous.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this subject, so please feel free to weigh in (no pun intended).

I’m working on a regular post, but I might fall asleep before it’s finished—it’s another long-winded one!

7 thoughts on “Weight and Size Controversy

  1. I’m glad you addressed this topic in a full post. I think this is something that many girls, teenagers, and women often ‘miss the boat’ on.

    Another point is that people shouldn’t go by a BMI chart religiously. My health teacher always said that the BMI chart is simply an indication of height and weight; it has nothing to do with health.

    I don’t think you were rude in your last post at all. It was obvious that you were poking fun at yourself and trying to convey the point that H&M skewed sizes. Heck if I was normally a size 2 and then bought a 10, I would feel a tad bad about myself to say the least.

  2. Couldn’t agree more with this whole post! I weighed more when I was dancing every day in high school than in my freshman year of college when I stopped working out.. just because I lost all that muscle mass! People that it was really weird until I explained it to them 🙂

  3. Word. I think your post perfectly encapsulates the very difficult nature of this issue. It is SO silly that we let a number on a tag determine our self-worth, but I TOTALLY fall into this trap. However, I also think that your post describes a hard truth–that HEALTH matters. Is a size 10 fat? There is no correct answer to that question. If the woman is 6 feet tall it is probably too skinny! If she is 4’8” than yes, she is probably overweight. And while sizes and weight are such a trivial and superficial matter, it IS important to live a healthy life. I think being a good steward of your body (physically, mentally, emotionally) is crucial to living a full and happy life. However, your physical appearance is only one part of the picture. I think society/Hollywood/magazines does humanity a tremendous disservice for making it appear like 100% of the equation.

Share your thoughts!

