Flicking Almonds Out of Granola Clusters

I was in lazy mode once the rain started pouring in yesterday afternoon, so I ended up skipping my workout in lieu of watching the hurricane coverage for six hours straight. The minute-to-minute updates were fascinating (and scary!). We didn’t lose power during the storm like I thought we would. It just figures, the one time that my family is semi-prepared, nothing goes wrong! Well, sort of. More on that later.

This morning, I woke up by 7am and immediately slipped on a lululemon tank top then headed downstairs for a workout. I took advantage of the fact that everyone in my house was still sleeping by rearranging the furniture in my sunroom and transforming it into a yoga studio. I turned on Exercise TV and completed the 10 Pound Slimdown—my favorite! I like that yoga trainer Chris Freytag moves quickly through the poses and is easy to follow. Oh, and her voice isn’t overly obnoxious. I seriously can’t stand some of the instructors on workout dvds!

I ate an English muffin with crunchy peanut butter and a banana for breakfast then made my way to my treadmill. My legs were not working this morning—even walking at a slow pace felt difficult! I completed a very slow 3 miles then went to my siblings’ bedrooms to attack them (please note that when I say attack, I mean jump on them and smother them in the most loving way possible). I like having quiet time in the mornings to myself, but I eventually get antsy and want them to wake up!

breakfast (2)

I was fully expecting it to be another gloomy day, so I made a to-do list and started working on it after exercising. The most tedious task of the day was cleaning out and organizing my pantry. When my family put an addition on my house, we added a walk-in pantry. It’s great because it’s huge and can hold lots of snacks, but things often get pushed to the back of shelves. I’m pretty sure we don’t need anything with a 2003 expiration date. Ew.

After a few hours of tossing things off the shelves and into a trash bag, I had a neatly organized pantry! Being surrounded by food meant that I had to taste-test a few things. When my stomach started grumbling, I eagerly ripped open a bag of raisin almond crunch granola.

clean pantry

A few days ago, I found a package on my doorstep from Love Grown Foods. Laura, the mastermind behind the goodies, sent me a package full of different granolas to try.

LGF 1

The cocoa goodness flavor called out to me upon opening the box, but when I tried it, I didn’t love it at first. While I appreciate that Love Grown Foods uses 100% pure cocoa, I thought the taste of the granola was a tad bitter. I only tried it plain, though I think it would be great with milk.

LGF 2

However, the raisin almond crunch flavor was phenomenal! I love that there are big clusters and the raisins complement the flavor perfectly. If you know me well or have been reading for a while, you’d know that I have a weird thing with nuts. I like almonds, pistachios, and peanuts on their own, but I do not like them mixed into foods. Luckily, I could just flick the almonds out of the granola clusters or simply bury them in the bottom of the bag.

Just as I finished eating the bag of granola cleaning out the pantry, the sun started to come out. It turned out to be a gorgeous day in Baltimore, though we randomly lost power this afternoon for a few hours. Ali, Brian, and I headed out to the pool to enjoy the beautiful afternoon. Brian entertained us by doing various tricks, including a backflip into the pool. I used to be able to do a front flip, back when I was adventurous [and stupid].

beautiful afternoon

When we came back inside, I found myself getting extremely sluggish and wanting to plop on the couch with a box of cereal. I do not like to graze and much prefer to eat full meals, so I got back on the treadmill to avoid having a lazy night. I wanted to go on a walk outside, but I wasn’t able to convince any of my siblings to accompany me. I turned on an old episode of One Tree Hill and walked another slow 3.5 miles. I felt much better afterwards!

Before I forget, I wanted to mention that Jenny of Love Eat Run is planning a blogger meet-up for anyone in the Baltimore area. If you’re interested in joining, email her at LoveEatRun@gmail.com for more information. Thanks for coordinating everything, Jenny! I’m looking forward to it! Smile

Now I’m watching MTV’s Video Music Awards and am wondering what the hell Lady Gaga is smoking.

Can you do any tricks into a pool (or on land)?

Are you watching the VMAs tonight?

What did you do this weekend?

16 thoughts on “Flicking Almonds Out of Granola Clusters

  1. Is it odd that organizing the pantry is easily one of my favorite activities. It makes me feel so organized! You did a spectacular job!

    I have ZERO pool or land tricks. I cannot even cartwheel. I am pretty good at sitting next to the pool, though. In fact, I could probably get an Olympic medal in it. 🙂

  2. I really liked the sweet cranberry pecan love grown granola. I didn’t get to try the apple one though, which disappoints me because I’m pretty sure that would have been my favorite!
    We lost power for a little more than 24 hours so I didn’t get to watch the VMAs 😦 boo! Instead I cleaned out the pantry just like you did, but I did it in the dark. I’d rather watch the VMAs!

  3. I didn’t realize the VMAs were on! I guess that’s better though – at least I got a little work done for Monday classes! And the part about you trying to convince your siblings to go for a walk with you then ending up walking on the treadmill? That is so my life! Good job with the pantry!

Share your thoughts!

