Ice Cream For Breakfast

I soo did not want to get out of bed this morning, but I had limited beach time today, so I dragged myself out the door a little before 8am. I decided to take my workout to the beach simply because I was too lazy to put on socks and tennis shoes.

morning water

Instead of running, I walked two miles on the soft sand then walked near the water on my way back (except when I had to dodge the fishing rods that were clearly in my way). I thought about doing some pushups as well, but didn’t want to get my hands all sandy. Arm workout:? No. Total girl? Yes.

beach sand

shore

My stomach was eating itself on my way back to my condo and the heat had me craving something cold. I needed a smoothie pronto. When I spotted a container of sprinkles in my cabinet, I made my smoothie super thick, with the help of a lot of xanthan gum, to imitate ice cream. Ice cream in the morning? Umm, yes, please.

This might have been the best double chocolate protein shake/smoothie/ice cream I’ve ever made. So good that I’m salivating as I type this. (Okay, ew, not really.)

Double Chocolate Ice Cream (best eaten at 9am)

  • 1 heaping tablespoon Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder
  • 1 rounded scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/2 cup fat free milk
  • 5 large ice cubes
  • sprinkles (definitely not optional)

double chocolate ice cream

1. In a blender, blend together the cocoa powder, protein powder, ice cubes, and milk (add to blender in that order).

2. Once it is blended together, add in the xanthan gum and continue to blend until thick and creamy.

3. Top with sprinkles. And perhaps some cool whip and chocolate chips too.

After breakfast, I staked out a spot on the beach near the water. I had a perfect view of the ocean, I was angled directly under the sun, and my surrounding beach neighbors were tolerable. I laid my towel out in front of me and sat in my chair to read Baby Proof, yet another novel by Emily Giffin.

baby proof

Things were going well until a clan of nuisances showed up. These people epitomized my beach pet peeves. Smoking? Check. Little kids who would run back and forth between the ocean and their marked territory carrying a bucket full of water and proceeding to spill 99% of its contents before getting to their sand castle? Check. Immature teeny-boppers having mindless conversations and whining about their newest love triangle? Check.

That wasn’t the worst of it though. Just as I was dozing off and having a blissful dream, I heard loud screeching a few feet away from me. “Oh my gawwwwwdd! My hair!” Now fully alert, I looked up to give said person a death stare. You have got to be kidding me. Divalicious would be putting it lightly. This girl—who was freaking out about a curl coming out of place—was wearing her purse. In the ocean. I love my handbags just as much as the next girl, but Louis Vuitton sure as hell ain’t coming with me to the beach. Clearly she wasn’t carrying no Louis.

I had to get off the beach early this afternoon, which ended up working out perfectly because dark clouds appeared just as I was packing up, and thunder forced everyone off the beach anyway. Despite being the world’s worst photographer, I was hired to take family photos this evening in Bethany Beach. Thanks to Alison’s awesome camera, the photos turned out surprisingly well!

When I came back to Ocean City, I went to my two least favorite places in the world: Food Lion and the ghetto version of Walmart, aka Roses. In my opinion, Food Lion has by far the worst selection of produce and it pales in comparison to Harris Teeter or Wegmans. Luckily, I only had to pick up a few non-edible items. Yet again, I had to make a return for my mom at Roses. Hmm, if we’re always returning purchases, shouldn’t that indicate something??

roses

I wanted a quick dinner, so I picked up some Old Bay shrimp and ate it alongside steamed green beans.

shrimp and beans

Now I’m about to watch Soul Surfer with my mom while cleaning up tonight. I don’t want to go home tomorrow, but I have a fun weekend ahead!

P.S. Keep entering the Coobie Bra Giveaway!!

7 thoughts on “Ice Cream For Breakfast

  1. Um amazing post. I hate people like that too. I just about burst out laughing at your:

    I love my handbags just as much as the next girl, but Louis Vuitton sure as hell ain’t coming with me to the beach. Clearly she wasn’t carrying no Louis.

    I feel the EXACT same way. Marc doesn’t come to the beach. No way, no how.

  2. I loved Soul Surfer!! And this post made me really want to be at the beach right now. Instead of starting school on Monday… I missed my family’s two beach trips this summer and I’m living vicariously through your posts!

Share your thoughts!

