How To Wear A Trench Coat

A few readers asked for a post on how to wear trench coats, so here it finally is! I actually love that I received requests for a fashion post on trenches because they are a wardrobe staple. Trench coats are especially versatile since they can take you from season to season and they can be dressed up and dressed down. The greatest part about them is that they’ll never go out of style, meaning that they are totally worth a splurge. The key to wearing a trench coat is avoiding looking like you belong on a street corner, or better yet, in a movie with Inspector Gadget.

inspector gadget

How To Wear A Trench Coat

For a clean, pulled together daytime look, pair the trench with a crisp, white button down and skinny jeans. Tall riding boots make for a classic look, and a fun scarf is perfect for a pop of color. Avoid distracting earrings and stick to simple jewelry instead.

How To Wear A Trench 1

If done correctly, a trench coat can add a sexy element to an outfit. If done incorrectly, you might have sketchy men offering you large sums of money for an hour of your time. I love this look because it’s funky and can effortlessly take you from day to night. You can’t get much easier than a little black dress. If I actually had a job with a dress code, I would wear this outfit with a conservative pair of shoes then switch into the studded leopard print heels for a date. Since the dress is simple, opt for bold jewelry and statement pieces.

How To Wear A Trench 2

This look is ideal for the transitioning weather, when it’s too warm for a thick coat, but cool enough for a little something. A striped top and jeans is a great option because it has that I-just-pulled-this-out-of-my-closet-and-I-still-look-cute thing going on. Add a colorful pair of flats to jazz up the outfit a bit and tote around a cute bag for a simple look.

How To Wear A Trench 3

The options are endless with trench coats. I created a few of my favorite looks, but if you are still at a loss or have a specific item in mind, feel free to ask!

5 thoughts on “How To Wear A Trench Coat

  1. Hey! A few of my friends told me about your blog so I decided to read it (finally) and I love this post! I especially like that you used the same trench in all three looks, to show versatility and practicality. I read somewhere that if you divide the total cost by the number of times you wear an item (to figure out the cost-per-wear), it helps show whether a piece is worth splurging for, and I think this post did a great job of showing the endless ways to pull off a trench. I recently bought a patterned trench coat by DVF and I’ve been looking for ways to wear it- this post gave me a lot of inspiration!

    ps: I am in looooove with all three looks you put together. In the future you should add captions that show either the designers or links to where you can buy each item, because I would love to own those tall riding boots (are they Tory Burch?).

    • I’m flattered–I’m so happy that you decided to start reading! I’ve heard the “calculation rule” before, though I usually just buy a piece depending on how many outfits I can conjure up in my head. If I see myself wearing a particular item multiple times, I usually can’t resist! There really are an endless amount of ways to wear a trench, which is great. I’m working on your post so hopefully you’ll be wearing your new trench in no time! 🙂

      The reason why I don’t include links and/or designers is because my goal is to inspire looks. Also, I don’t want anyone thinking that just because I paired the trench with $500 boots means that you have to have those boots. While I always love the different items that I pick out, they aren’t always necessarily the only ones that would work. My point is that the fashion posts are more of a guide and I always think of an outfit in my head then try to find the items online–rather than looking for something then creating an outfit. Does that make sense? However, I will start including more info!

      The boots are actually Frye, not Tory Burch!

  2. I want it ALL! I LOVE your fashion posts! I want those Tory Burch flats SO bad! However, my husband is a giant so I would never be able to wear them out. I have already decided that my second husband will be REALLY short so I can wear nothing but adorable flats. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

