Shimmy Shimmy Cocoa What?

Sometimes I wonder why I even bother setting an alarm clock when my internal alarm clock automatically wakes me up at least 20 minutes earlier. Plus, I always forget to turn off my alarm, meaning that shimmy shimmy cocoa what? (or something like that…) is likely to be blasting on my Blackberry while I’m already out of bed and washing my face. Certain family members get rather annoyed when they hear a song from 2000 repeatedly blasting at 6am. Oops. I guess I fear that the one day I don’t set my alarm will be the one day that I oversleep.

I was actually thankful to have the spare time this morning because I was able to make breakfast, clean the kitchen, wrap a present, and respond to a few emails before I had to leave for work. As soon as I arrived to babysit, I immediately went upstairs to get part of my workout completed.

present

While watching The Today Show, I finished two miles of intervals on the treadmill then biked 6.5 miles. This morning, I realized that I haven’t done much weight lifting lately, simply because I prefer to take my workout outdoors in the summer. It’s also inconvenient for me to get to my gym, so I just work with what I can instead. In the end, all that matters is that I’m doing some form of exercise.

In the afternoon, I came home for about two hours before heading to my second job of the day. I wanted to watch the episode of Pretty Little Liars that I missed last night, but knew that I would become sluggish if I laid on the sofa, especially since the weather was gloomy today. To avoid the inevitable laziness, I hopped on the treadmill at my house and completed another 2.75 miles. Again, I did intervals, but kept it on the easy side. I’m planning on doing a post this week that will discuss intervals on the treadmill, so stay tuned!

pll

Thankfully, I finished working relatively early tonight and made it back home by 7pm. My stomach was grumbling for dinner, so I made a simple meal: parmesan chicken. Would you believe that my version contains a mere five grams of fat? You certainly can’t get that at Macaroni Grill. I ate broccoli on the side for some greens and had a small bowl of frozen mango chunks for dessert (they are so good!).

chicken parm

frozen mango

My eyes are feeling heavy so it’s bed time for me!

P.S. In case you didn’t see, I extended the giveaway for the crystallized slap watch!

6 thoughts on “Shimmy Shimmy Cocoa What?

  1. Hey! So I really like your blog, but to be honest, I think since your title gives a sense that the blog is about fashion and fitness, you should talk more about fashion (you do discuss fitness a fair amount.) while it’s really entertaining to read about your day to day activity, I miss the days where you used to write about fashion. I think you’d gain a larger audience if you did talk about fashion more, bc some people may not be interested in your babysitting and school (even though I think it’s very interesting!) I noticed a previous comment asked about how to wear trench coats and I’d also love to know your answer to that! I just bought a brown one for the fall and i don’t know what to pair with it! Also, who are a few of your favorite designers? You should work them into your posts a little! Just some friendly advice. Love your blog though!

    • Hi Casey,
      Thank you so much for reading my blog! I really appreciated your long and thought-out comment. I am always looking for ways to improve my blog, as it’s still a work in progress. When I began my blog, I knew that I would want a focus, but also wanted to have the freedom to simply write about my life. In fact, I enjoy writing, so my day-to-day posts are usually a way for me to grow as a writer while strengthening my skills.

      With that being said, there are several reasons why I don’t do as many fashion posts. I’d really love to do more (and eventually will in the future), but I am still in the process of getting things “sorted out.” Unlike my other posts, fashion posts take a lot of time because I often do a great amount of research for each and every one of them. In addition, I also search several hundred pages, looking for items that I’d like to use in my posts. While I love composing them, it’s just not realistic for me to spend five hours on a post when I’ve worked for 12 hours straight that day! On the other hand, I obviously don’t need to conduct research in order to talk about my personal life. Food and fitness fit nicely into these “generic” posts, simply because they are a huge part of my life. Also, I value my ability to share what I know with readers, in hopes of positively influencing others. I’m passionate about people leading a healthy lifestyle, so I hope that my posts encourage readers to do the same. Plus, food is something that is relevant to everyone. I try to ensure that my blog is applicable to a wide range of readers, as I know that I have readers as young as 10 years old and as old as 60+! Therefore, I want my content to be useful to the majority of my demographic.

      In the fall, I hope to start posting what I wear on a daily basis, but again, it’s not realistic to do right now (only because I typically wear workout gear during the day since my job allows it!). A post on trench coats is on its way; I want to make sure that my post is well-drafted, so I’m not rushing it. If you can bear with me, I promise that the fashion posts won’t be so far and few between! Another reader also asked about my favorite designers–check back for a post outlining them! I’m going to keep all of your suggestions in mind, and I am grateful that you took the time to make them.

      If you ever have any questions or would like some personal fashion advice, please don’t hesitate to email me! I am more than willing to offer help that is specifically catered to you! 🙂

Share your thoughts!

