7.5 Mile Walk For Crabby Soup

Trek to Dog-Sit

Lauren, one of my sister Natalie’s good friends, came over this afternoon. She and Natalie hung by the pool while kids hung on me in the pool. Once I finished babysitting, the three of us had quite the workout. Natalie is dog-sitting while her boyfriend is away for a few days, so I agreed to check on the pups with her. Because he lives relatively close, we decided to kill two birds with one stone (not literally–unlike this time).

Natalie and I made the trek yesterday; a total of 7.5 miles! With the blistering heat, the steep hills, and the sweat pouring down our faces, we conquered the walk in exactly two hours. Not too bad if you ask me! It was such a great workout that we decided to do it again this afternoon. It was definitely challenging for all of us, but gave us a feeling of accomplishment–hence why you should never underestimate a simple exercise such as walking!

When we arrived back home, we were more than ready for dinner. I lightly seasoned then broiled a lean sirloin steak and had green beans on the side. Though it was tasty, it couldn’t compare to the accidentally delicious dinner that I made last night.

Colleen’s Crabby Cream of Crab Soup

I picked up a pound of jumbo lump crab meat from Wegmans in the morning, unsure of exactly what I would make with it. Then it dawned on me–cream of crab soup! I have tried twice this summer to get my beloved soup from a local seafood spot, but they were out of it both times. After being disappointed two times in a row (plus it was great motivation for the grueling walk!), I was fed up and decided it was time for me to make it myself. Well, considering I had no clue how to make a soup (a cream-based one nonetheless), I approached it with low expectations.

Natalie and I made it home well past dinner time last night, and when I saw that my aunt and uncle came over for a surprise visit, I was a little stressed out about cooking a new recipe for guests and cooking in a rush. Before I start a new recipe, I sometimes think bombs away! I definitely thought that while making the cream of crab soup, fully expecting it to taste…fishy. 😉

Somehow–and I don’t know how–the cooking gods helped me create an amazingly creamy, and slightly healthier version of an all-time favorite of mine. I prefer my soup to be rich and chock full of crab meat, which it was. Thank goodness it turned out crabby and not crappy. Because I was just guessing as I went along, I didn’t measure exactly, but I wanted to share my recipe in case you’re up for the challenge.

Colleen’s Crabby Cream of Crab Soup (Great alliteration, I know.)

  • 1lb jumbo lump crab meat
  • 6 cups light whipping cream
  • 4 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 4 tablespoons onions, minced
  • 2 tablespoons butter or butter substitute
  • a ton of Old Bay [(about one can) seriously]

1. In a large saucepan, saute the onions in the butter on medium heat.

2. Gradually add the light whipping cream, stirring constantly. Then, gradually add the flour, now stirring vigorously.

3. Add the crab meat. Simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Do not let the soup boil.

4. Pour in an unearthly amount of Old Bay and combine. Serve hot.

Note: This will produce a very thick soup. To thin, add more whipping cream or use less flour. I continually added the two until the soup reached a consistency that I desired.

The soup was devoured before taking any pictures, but needless to say, it was enjoyed by everyone!

The Bachelorette

Due to a family emergency, I wasn’t able to see the last 15 minutes of The Bachelorette, aka the only 15 minutes of the entire show that matter. Though I had previously read several spoilers, I obviously still had to do a quick Google search on my Blackberry. Since I ruined it last time, I won’t do it again, but for those of you who watched, were you surprised by the outcome? I really didn’t follow this season that closely, but I didn’t think her choice was shocking.

I’d love to hear your thoughts! Do you think their relationship will last? Or is a solid relationship impossible to be formed on reality TV?

8 thoughts on “7.5 Mile Walk For Crabby Soup

  1. After seeing every episode this season, I missed last night’s since I’m out of town. I immediately googled it too though and it was exactly what I expected. Although unfortunately I don’t see it lasting very long!

  2. way to go on the mileage!

    I’m a total sap when it comes to romance. I always hope/convince myself a couple will make it. I feel like the two of them are a bit over-the-top in their affection which makes me worry that it’s lust and not love. However, they seem like two very nice people who love each other and since I’m ALWAYS rooting for love, I’ll say I think they’re going to make it!

Share your thoughts!

