Luggage Strewn Across the Highway

My dad and I hit the road and made it to Ocean City in two and a half hours—you usually can’t make it in that short of time without first getting pulled over by one of the many cops along the way. Somehow, we missed all of the radar guns and had a fairly smooth drive.

Besides the mattress that I witnessed fly off the truck next to us.

Luckily, no one seemed to get injured, but it had me thinking about a similar incident involving my family. Ten years ago, my whole family was driving home from the airport after a long international flight from Iran. We were exhausted from the 15-hour plane ride, especially because it was the middle of the night.

With a family of seven, packing lightly is not an option. We had two large suitcases strapped on top of our car and just as we were all dozing off to sleep, we heard a snap. The bungee cords that were holding our suitcases in place were no longer strapped to our roof. And neither were our suitcases. Sure enough, one of the pieces of luggage landed on a car being driven by a college-aged girl. Needless to say, she was livid.

Meanwhile, I was sitting in the car sobbing at 3am because my favorite dress was in the suitcase that was soon to be highway scenery. I was relentless, so my dad—I kid you not—ran across the highway to retrieve as many of our belongings as he could, including our VHS of Home Alone which was unraveled.

At the time it was quite the Chevy Chase experience, but now it provides a good laugh!

As soon as my dad and I arrived in Ocean City, we headed down to the beach to take a quick walk. Even at 9pm, it was still incredibly hot and humid. The opposing temperatures from the water and the sand created such a bizarre sensation; we would get a cold breeze one second then would be suffocating in heat the next. It was so weird!

I woke up early this morning and quietly snuck out of my condo to go for a run (no climbing down the bed this time!). As soon as I walked out the door, the heat was present and seeing that it was already 85° at 6:30am, I quickly ruled out a run. Instead, I walked a very challenging two miles on the soft sand on the beach. I have a specific pair of shoes just for the beach, so I didn’t mind when they became filled with sand.

I thought I did a pretty good job of keeping the sand out, but when I walked up the dunes onto the street, I felt a mound at the top of my shoe. I guess I underestimated just how much sand really did get in there!

I walked to Fenwick Island then turned around and walked along Coastal Highway, for a total of four miles. I love the quietness that the early morning brings, plus I get to fully take in all of my favorite places.

Thank goodness they weren't opened!

I’ve been craving peaches for the past couple of days, so I was beyond excited to see that my mom had ripe ones in the fruit bowl. I made an egg sandwich along with the white peach for a filling breakfast.

Now I’m heading down to the beach!

2 thoughts on “Luggage Strewn Across the Highway

Share your thoughts!

