No Electricity In 100-Degree Weather

Yesterday

I laced up my tennis shoes and was out the door by 7:15am yesterday morning for another long walk. With Pandora blasting through my headphones and the sun rising in the horizon, it was the perfect setting for an early morning walk. Well, besides the loud cars whizzing by me and the horns honking.

random flowers I spotted on my walk

Towards the end of my walk, I became ravenous, so I needed food within 30 seconds of walking through the door. Good thing I had leftovers of the hot dog frittata! To quench my thirst,Β  had a juicy orange on the side. Delicious!

I had some time to spare before I had to babysit, so I vacuumed all the rooms on my first floor, Swiffered the kitchen, wiped the counters down, and did some dishes. Nothing beats a clean house!

Maria and I spent the majority of the day inside, as it was just far too hot to even step outdoors. We eventually made our way to the pool for her swim lesson, but we didn’t last very long there. I lounged under a large tree in the shade while reading a book–I was not in the mood to melt.

The pool left me craving a cold lunch, so we headed to my house so that I could make a double chocolate smoothie. I told Maria about seven times how much I was pining for one; she was eager to see what it was all about.

Then my luck hit just as we came in my house. My alarm system was dinging, meaning one thing. Our power had gone out. No, it was not monsooning outside. No, it was not thundering outside. No, BGE was not running tests.

Yes, it was over 100Β° outside. Yes, I needed electricity to make my smoothie. Yes, we were dying without air conditioning. Instead, I had to quickly open the fridge door, stick my arm in there, and pull out the first thing that my hand grasped. Greek yogurt it was!

My neighbors, Jack and Zoe, came over and we all went downstairs to my basement in an attempt to stay cool. Of course my cell phone and iPad were almost completely dead. The four of us basically sat in the pitch black until the power finally came back on, an hour later.

With the help of electricity, I quickly threw together a shrimp salad to take to my sister’s house. Jen invited my dad and me over for dinner, so I wanted to take something that was light, summery, and healthy.

Spicy Shrimp Salad

  • 30 large cooked shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 3 hard-boiled eggs, chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped celery
  • 2 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon low-fat mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons horseradish mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning

1. In a large bowl, add together the shrimp, chopped eggs, and celery.

2. In a small bowl, thoroughly combine the Greek yogurt, mayonnaise, horseradish mustard, and Old Bay.

3. Add the Greek yogurt and mayonnaise mixture to the large bowl. Combine.

4. Enjoy cold.

*Please note that this shrimp salad is not spicy at all. I just felt like naming it that because I’m too hot to think right now.

Jen has an adorable townhouse located directly in Canton Square, so she was hoping that we would be able to eat outside on her rooftop deck, but it was far too hot. She and her roommate, Tanya, made two thin-crust pizzas to eat along side my shrimp salad. They were gracious enough to make one pizza without tomatoes, just for me (I hate tomatoes)!

The night wouldn’t be complete without some dessert! I enjoyed a small bowl of peach frozen yogurt that tasted like peach Chobani.

We chatted for a few hours while watching Wheel of Fortune, So You Think You Can Dance, and Selling New York. I didn’t realize how tired I was until I was in the car on the way home–I quickly showered then went straight to bed.

Today

Today started off the same way–with a long walk in my neighborhood. Thankfully, I could actually make a smoothie this morning. It was the perfect way to cool off from a sweaty walk.

I’ve been staying inside for the majority of the day trying to avoid the heat at all costs; it’s unbearable outside! And now I’m in a rush to quickly get packed and head somewhere with sand. Although I’m hoping I won’t have to do much seeing as I haven’t unpacked from my last vacation…

10 thoughts on “No Electricity In 100-Degree Weather

  1. I’m so sorry about your electricity! Our a/c went out a couple weeks ago…in the Florida heat…yuck. I totally understand the annoyance of no a/c!

    I’m hungry right now and your food pics aren’t helping! Looks delicious! πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts!

