Dirty Spinach Dilemma

I was exhausted last night, but managed to have an hour of tossing and turning. For whatever reason, I woke up at 4am and couldn’t turn my mind off until 5am. Even though I didn’t have the best sleep, I still woke up before my alarm clock sounded. I didn’t have to work until a little later this morning, so I spent the extra time taking a long walk.

I was smart enough not to take the detour through the woods this time. It was already hot and steamy by 8am, so I was craving a cold smoothie when I arrived home. Before I left for my walk, I cleaned out the ice bin, meaning that there was a pretty good chance my freezer had not yet made any ice. To my excitement, there were eight ice cubes in the bin–just enough for a smoothie!

Unfortunately, I only had dirty spinach, so I had to improvise. In the end, it still turned out well, but wasn’t as voluminous as usual. Though I did make quite a mess in the blender. Things kind of…exploded. Because I didn’t use spinach in my mix, there wasn’t much to move around. Oops.

Double Chocolate Smoothie

  • 1 heaping scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon Hershey’s special dark cocoa powder
  • ¼ teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 8 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup milk (I use Almond Breeze)

This afternoon, I took Maria, another girl that I babysit, to Hunt Valley Town Center to shop around before seeing a movie. We ventured into Ann Taylor Loft (well, I dragged Maria in there) after seeing a sale sign. I found several great items, but realized that my sister has my credit card. I don’t carry cash, so luckily for my wallet, I didn’t make any purchases.

We then went into Five Below (that place seems to be a favorite among the 10-and-under crowd), where I found this awesome book. I didn’t buy it, but I did skim through it. While it contained a lot information that I already know, I do think it would be an interesting read to keep around.

After walking around for a little longer, we saw the movie Monte Carlo. It was cute for a little girl, but was all too similar to The Lizzie McGuire movie. At least I wasn’t seeing this movie for the third time this summer.

When we arrived home, I suggested that Maria work on her summer reading. I had her read for about 20 minutes as well as complete two pages of her math packet. I run a tight ship. 🙂

My mom and younger siblings went to the beach last night, so my dad and I were on our own for dinner tonight. I couldn’t decide what to make, but eventually settled on an egg frittata. I’m glad I did because it was really good!

I wanted to use up the ingredients in our fridge; I ended up with a great combination.

Hot Dog and Vegetable Frittata

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup egg whites
  • 4 turkey hot dogs
  • 3 slices or ¼ cup cheese (I used low-fat provolone cheese)
  • 4 cups cooked baby spinach
  • ½ cup chopped red pepper
  • ½ cup chopped orange pepper
  • ½ cup chopped yellow onion
  • salt and pepper to taste

  1. Preheat the oven to 375° .
  2. Slice up the four hot dogs into bite-sized pieces. In a small skillet, lightly brown the hot dogs on high heat.
  3. In a large skillet, saute the chopped peppers and onions on medium heat. Drain all water from vegetables (especially spinach).
  4. If using sliced cheese, cut the slices into small pieces.
  5. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs and egg whites.
  6. Add all the spinach, peppers, onions, cheese, salt, and pepper to the bowl.
  7.  Pour into a round, shallow dish.
  8. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes, or until the mixture is firm and lightly browned on top.
  9. Let it sit for 10 minutes, then serve.

It was so good that I went back for seconds. Or maybe thirds.

Now it’s time to go take care of the dishes and some to-dos!

8 thoughts on “Dirty Spinach Dilemma

  1. Pingback: Gas or Pedicure? « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

  2. Pingback: No Electricity In 100-Degree Weather « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

  3. Pingback: Forcing The Exchange Student To Eat Puffins « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

  4. Pingback: Question and Answer, Round One « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

  5. Pingback: My Personal Meal Plan « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

Share your thoughts!

