Fashion Meets Fitness

Other than the fact that I’m a diva at times, I’m convinced that attire and overall appearance significantly impacts my mood. There’s a good chance that I’ll doze off in the middle of a lecture if I’m wearing yoga pants and a sweatshirt, but if I’m wearing a new silk blouse from Anthropologie, it’s unlikely that I’ll be slouching. I mean come on, I wouldn’t want it to wrinkle.

Similarly, I feel the same rules apply when it comes to the gym. I can run a little faster, lift a little heavier, and downward-dog a little longer when I’m wearing a cute lululemon workout skirt and a colorful racer-back tank. But if I’m in a ratty t-shirt and seven-year-old elastic shorts, I find myself trying to leave the gym as soon as possible. Simply put, I believe that you feel good when you look good.

So why not do a guide for gym-appropriate wear? Granted, I do sometimes exercise in my bathing suit, but that’s a whole other issue.

Accessories

Ever seen a girl on a treadmill flailing her arms and trying to run at full speed while swatting at her face because loose strands of hair are impairing her vision? I’m that girl. Having a long mane of hair is probably the most annoying thing about working out. Thankfully, I can throw on a cute headband to tame my fly-aways and make running a little easier.

Lululemon Athletic Headband, $12

If I don’t want to deal with my hair at all, I’ll just throw on a cute hat and voila! No hair problems to deal with.

Life is Good Hat, $20

I’m obviously not going to wear my ceramic watch while sweating it out on the treadmill, but I still like to have a relatively fashionable one for my workouts. My Ironman watch doesn’t seem to hold up well in water, so this Baby-G is on my wish list.

Baby-G Watch, $79

I like colorful headphones not only because they’re fun, but because they restrict Brian from stealing them from me.

Aural New York Headphones, $15

Workout Tops

During the summer time, when I want to stay as cool as possible while exercising, I tend to gravitate towards tank tops. I particularly like the ones made by Under Armour and lululemon. Not only are they flattering, but they also come in an array of colors.

Under Armour Racerback Tank, $40

Lululemon Scoop Neck Tank, $52

Workout Bottoms

Let’s get it right out. Running can create unnecessary anxiety. No, not the I-hate-running-so-much-I-think-I-might-die kind of anxiety. I’m talking about the anxiety caused by some workout bottoms. More like, shit! my-shorts-are-riding-up-and-there’s-a-cute-guy-on-the-treadmill-behind-me kind of anxiety. These bottoms help avoid the running wedgie at all costs, making it easy to run at least 15 miles. 😉

Nike Tempo Shorts, $28

Under Armour Escape Shorts, $30

This running skirt is great for running, but I mainly wear it while playing tennis. Mostly because I think I’m Serena Williams.

Nike Pacer Running Skirt, $45

Workout Shoes

I try not to buy a pair of shoes based solely [no pun intended] on their style, but I must admit, I don’t want to wear an ugly pair of shoes, gym or not. While I strongly advise that you visit your local running store to be properly fitted, it doesn’t hurt to buy shoes that are both comfortable and stylish.

Asics Gel Kayano 17 Running Shoes, $140

Brooks Ghost 4 Running Shoe, $100

Nike Free Run Running Shoes, $85

How do you look cute while working out?

14 thoughts on “Fashion Meets Fitness

  1. I am a college student from Texas and I found your blog through your facebook page. I’ve noticed that your blog is really, really similar to another blog that I read, pbfingers.com. Where do you get your inspiration? Also, I’d love to read more about your experience with fashion, as advertised in your about me section. Who are a few of your favorite designers? Thanks! 🙂

    • I’m glad you found me! Julie is great, so I take that as a compliment (though I still have a long way to go until I’m at her level)! I try to keep my posts honest and true to myself. Though I enjoy food and healthy living, there is more to my life than just that. When I write a post, I write it as if I am talking to one of my friends. The blogs that I find most interesting are the ones that cover a wide range of topics, as well as tidbits about their personal lives. In return, I like to post things that are relevant to my life. A lot of times, I’ll have a conversation with a family member or friend and think that it will make a great blog post. I want to discuss topics that I think a variety of people would be interested in. My blog is a creative outlet for me, so I like having the opportunity to talk about things that are currently on my mind.

      I am definitely working on some more fashion-related posts, so be on the lookout! While I have a deep love for many high-end designers, wearing certain labels is not always realistic. With that being said, I find myself becoming a magnet to a lot of items from Anthropologie and J.Crew. I’m going to go into depth in a post–keep your eyes open!

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. You had me at Lululemon and Nike Frees! I completely and 100% agree with you – when I’m in a new Lulu outfit I will be at the gym for exponentially longer than if I’m not feeling my best! I may or may not have picked up some Wunder Groove Crops last week and have already worn them for a killer workout! Nike Frees are the only shoes I’ll run in!

  3. I really like those orange shorts. Then again, as a Clemson fan, most of my closet it orange! ha

    I usually go for old soccer shorts and a tshirt, but when I do actually put on cute workout stuff, it’s such a treat!

  4. I am so glad I found your blog through Alyssa’s! So fun. 🙂

    I love the Nike Tempo Shorts–they’re so comfy and not too long or too short. I also love that headband! I normally just pin back my bangs—but man–I have to get me one of those headbands! 😉

    Can’t wait to read more!

Share your thoughts!

