Getting Undressed On The Drive Home

I had to work again bright and early on Saturday morning, but I was lucky enough to have plenty of free time to myself. I told Jake the previous night that he could sleep in as late as he wanted, and he took full advantage. I decided to use the time wisely and get a good cardio workout in.

Not much was on television at 8am, but I was able to find John Tucker Must Die playing on a movie channel. Without even realizing it, I completed 8 miles on the bike. I wanted to warm up by riding the bike, so I kept the resistance low. To finish up, I did a very easy and slow 4 miles on the treadmill. I included some incline walking, but overall, the workout was light and not intense–perfect for a Saturday morning.

I made a huge protein shake afterward; it was so filling! I ate a few bites out of the blender then poured the rest into a tumbler, letting it overflow. I only ate about 1/6 of the smoothie before I was full! I finished most of it, but it was super thick (yet delicious) and diminished my hunger quickly.

As Jake slept the morning away, I took the opportunity to soak up some rays of sunshine outside on the deck while reading a few of my favorite magazines.

Later in the afternoon–once Jake finally woke up by noon–we ran a few errands. One of our stops was REI, where we intended to buy a pair of Keen water shoes. I don’t like to be mean, but to put it simply, the saleswoman helping us was a moron.

I asked her if we could try on a pair in a size 6.5, but she adamantly told me that Keen shoes do not come in half sizes. Because the largest children’s shoe was a size 6, she suggested that we try a men’s shoe. She said that the smallest shoe in stock was an 8, but I said that we would try it. While we were waiting for the woman to come back, I checked out a few of the shoes on display.

Lo and behold, I found a size 6.5. How odd, considering she insisted that half-sizes did not exist. When she came back, I told her that I found a shoe in a 6.5. Her response? “No, you didn’t. It’s not a 6.5.” Well, that’s strange, since that’s exactly what the label said. After trying to convince me that I was seeing things, she presented to me a men’s shoe in a size 8.5. Rather bizarre, yet again.

Jake tried on the pair of shoes, and they were ridiculously big. He had at least an inch at the top, but the saleswoman kept trying to tell me otherwise. Clearly, she didn’t know the first thing about shoes–especially ones that are intended to be worn during hikes and other outdoor activities. I kindly asked her to bring out a women’s pair, since I believed the men’s were way too big.

When Delusional Darla returned, she had a size 9.5 in her hands. How odd. They were the third pair from the nonexistent half-size line, and they were bigger than the ones that Jake had already tried on. I was getting frustrated by this point, and asked for smaller size, yet again. Jake was getting antsy (as was I) and he not so kindly yelled out to her to get him a size that would actually fit. I stifled a laugh while the woman rolled her eyes, obviously irritated that we were making her do her job. Finally, we found a pair that were good enough, given the circumstances, and briskly walked away from the impatient, unhelpful saleswoman.

After our little debacle, we went back to Red Zone to pick out a prize using the thousands of tickets that Jake had won on Thursday. He picked out a lava lamp to go with the disco ball that he already has in his bedroom. Luckily, he didn’t even make an attempt to play some games while we were there.

Our shenanigans had me craving a wholesome meal, so come dinner time, I made parmesan chicken and a side Caesar salad.

Despite the fact that I am not a huge fan of red sauce, this meal became an instant favorite. Not only is it super easy to make, but it’s also low in fat.

Parmesan Chicken (serves one)

  • 1 large chicken breast
  • 2 tablespoons liquid egg whites
  • 3 tablespoons Italian breadcrumbs
  • ΒΌ cup red sauce
  • 1 slice low-fat provolone or mozzarella cheese

1. Preheat the oven to 375Β°. Lightly pound a washed and dried chicken breast using a meat tenderizer.

2. Pour the egg whites into a shallow bowl. In a separate shallow bowl, pour the breadcrumbs in.

3. Coat the chicken breast in the egg whites then dredge it in the breadcrumbs, covering all sides.

4. Place the chicken in a ceramic dish and bake for 25 minutes.

5. Top the chicken breast with the sauce and slice of cheese. Broil on high in the oven for 5 minutes, or until the cheese is melted.

I was also babysitting later in the evening, but for another family. It was my first time meeting them, and the little girl wanted to go to dinner and see a movie. So I saw Mr. Popper’s Penguins for the second time in two days. Yup, that’s my life.

I could practically quote the entire movie, making the hilarious parts not so hilarious anymore. Nonetheless, if there was a movie that I would have to see twice, it would be this one. I’m quite thankful that it wasn’t Kung Fu Panda–Jack Black is funny, but not my taste.


By the end of the night, I was beyond exhausted. You know you’re tired when you start getting undressed on your drive home. Don’t worry, not too much came off. πŸ˜‰

Side note: my car is filthy. I need a car wash pronto!

5 thoughts on “Getting Undressed On The Drive Home

  1. Pingback: Dirty Spinach Dilemma « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

  2. Pingback: Shimmy Shimmy Cocoa What? « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Heath Bar Covered Bananas « Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

Share your thoughts!

