3,294 Tickets

My absence over the past couple of days is mostly because I’ve been going strong, working from 7:30am until 11:00pm. A vacation is in the horizon, so I don’t mind the nonstop lifestyle. Plus, today is Sunday, so I don’t have much on the agenda.

What do I mind? The fact that my days were starting to become repetitive. On Thursday afternoon, I was dragged to a child’s dream, or an adult’s nightmare–whichever way you want to look at it–also known as Red Zone. Not only is the place dark, grimy, and infested with loud children, but it also is a money eater.

I was wondering why my purse was weighing so heavily on my shoulder when I realized it was because I had 90 tokens in there. Within thirty minutes, every single one of those tokens was inserted into an arcade game, producing thousands of tickets.

Literally. We ended up with 3,294 tickets. Of course we couldn’t make a decision on the spot, so none of the tickets were exchanged for a prize.

After chasing Jake around, carrying his long stream of tickets, I was hungry for dinner. I easily put together a shrimp and orzo salad, which ended up hitting the spot.

Shrimp and Orzo Salad (serves four)

  • 4 cups spinach
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes
  • 2 cups orzo, cooked and drained
  • 20-25 large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • ½ cup feta cheese

Vinaigrette

  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • ½ lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Grill the shrimp for about 3 minutes on each side.

2. Slice the grape tomatoes in half, lengthwise.

3. Fill a large bowl with the spinach and tomatoes, then top with the orzo and follow with the shrimp and feta.

4. In a separate, small bowl, whisk together the juice of half of a lemon, red wine vinegar, olive oil, and salt and pepper. Pour over salad.

Unfortunately, when I was grilling the shrimp, I burned my fingers and thus started the repetitiveness. This morning, I discovered that the coffee maker had been left on since…sometime yesterday (let’s hope not since the morning)…by touching the hot plate underneath and again burning my fingers. Ouch!

Check back later to hear about what else I’ve been up to!

One thought on “3,294 Tickets

  1. Pingback: Getting Undressed On The Drive Home | Jimmy Choos on the Treadmill

Share your thoughts!

