4th of July In A Bowl

Between phone interviews and doing chores around the house, I lost track of time yesterday. Since I spent most of the day at home, I was able to make some good eats in the kitchen. Check ’em out!

Peanut Butter and Jelly In A Bowl

My favorite way to enjoy a big bowl of yogurt is to top it with an array of berries. It’s like the 4th of July in a bowl. 😉

I was disappointed to find that every container of fruit was nearly empty in my fridge, so I decided to try a new combination.  Well, technically it was an old combination in a new way: peanut butter and jelly in a bowl! Though it can’t compare to a huge bowl of fresh berries, it was still pretty good. It was nice and creamy, slightly sweet, and a bit crunchy (thanks to the crunchy peanut butter).

Peppery Pizza

The school year is finally coming to an end for my siblings, so they were all home in time for lunch yesterday. Using a pre-made pizza crust, I quickly threw together a pizza topped with colorful pepper slices.

I love making my own pizza because I can keep it healthy, ensuring that I don’t get sickeningly full.

In the late afternoon, my friend Emily and I went to MOM’s, an organic market that recently opened. They carried products similar to Whole Foods, as well as an expansive bulk food section. I picked up a few items that were on my grocery list, but couldn’t resist buying a jar of Justin’s Chocolate Peanut Butter when I spotted it on a shelf.

Cheese-Stuffed Burgers and Mango Avocado Salad

After running a few more errands, including a trip to Wegmans, Emily and I went back to her house to make dinner. We picked up a random assortment of ingredients, but it actually turned out well! While Emily was firing up the grill, I started assembling the salad. We were craving a light and summery meal, and this mango avocado salad ended up being just what we wanted. We grilled some corn, originally planning to eat it on the side, but decided to add it to the salad at the last minute. It was a great touch!

Mango Avocado Salad

  • 2 cups spring mix
  • 1 whole avocado
  • 1 large mango
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 ears of corn
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Shuck the ears of corn and add salt and pepper to taste. Grill on medium heat until lightly blackened.

2. Slice avocado in half and remove pit. Create cross-hatch cuts then remove from skin. Set aside.

3. Slice mango in half. Create cross-hatch cuts then remove from skin. Set aside.

4. Once the corn has finished grilling, cut the corn off the cob. Set aside.

5. In a large bowl, combine the spring mix, avocado, mango, and corn.

6. Squeeze one fresh lemon on top of the salad. Serve immediately.

I also introduced Emily to my cheese-stuffed burgers, which she loved. We made sliders, so they fit perfectly inside a mini whole wheat pita. Please note that Emily laughed when I called them sliders. Ironically, the burgers literally started sliding apart as she flipped them on the grill. Nonetheless, dinner was delicious.

We rented the movie Just Go With It (which I had seen before), and were about halfway through before we needed a little dessert. After we had a small bowl of Edy’s frozen yogurt, we were both fighting to keep our eyes open. Being the grandmas that we are, we called it a night at 10:45pm. The nights of staying up until 3am are long gone!

One thought on “4th of July In A Bowl

Share your thoughts!

