Father’s Day Gift Guide

If your dad is anything like mine, odds are he probably doesn’t want another plaid tie for Father’s Day. My dad likes to question every single purchase of mine. I can’t explain why I need a mini wire whisk with a cute little pink pig on the end of it. I just do, Dad.

Unlike me, my dad likes everything to have a purpose. He doesn’t understand why I would spend a car payment on a watch when I can get the “same” one for $30 at Wal-Mart. Apparently there’s no difference between Michael Kors and Great Value.

Every year, when my dad opens a gift, his immediate reaction is to ask what he needs it for. My siblings and I have learned our lesson since then, and now stick to more practical gifts. When that doesn’t work, we just ignore his requests to return the item and force him to keep it. He tried to tell us that his distressed jeans were in style. No, Dad, jeans with holes in them are not trendy if they are a product of constant wear. Nor are they trendy for someone your age. I much prefer the dark wash jeans that I picked up for him from J.Crew.

So, in hopes of avoiding your present becoming another useless item that can collect dust, here are a few ideas for your dad.

1. Bluetooth Headset: With more and more states banning the usage of handheld cell phones while driving–plus the fact that it’s just dangerous–a Bluetooth headset is a great gift for any driver. I particularly like the ones made by BlueAnt.

2. Car Detailing Gift Certificate: Because we knew my dad wouldn’t get around to actually using the gift certificate, we stole his car last year and got it detailed for him. Even though my dad wasn’t happy when he needed his car and saw that it was missing, he loved that it was sparkling clean inside and out.

3. Wireless TV Headphones: Besides the fact that I secretly want these myself (for when I’m on the treadmill at home and have the television’s volume at the maximum level), these are a cool gadget. This pair allows you to be up to 19 feet away!

4. Leather Wallet: Honestly, I think one of the best things about being a female is that we get to tote around fabulous handbags. Unfortunately for men, I don’t think a pale blue Birkin will match quite as well with their daily attire. I suppose the least we can do is buy them a wallet that will parallel in quality, but definitely not style.

5. Motorized Grill Brush: First of all, why wouldn’t you want to buy something that is motorized for the grill? Sounds pretty cool, right? Of course I don’t know the first thing about grilling, but that’s why it’s a gift for dad. If your dad likes to grill (or if you’re craving a burger this weekend), then this will make a perfect gift.

6. Beer Mug: Earlier tonight, when I was shopping for matching monogrammed beach towels for my family (I’m cheesy like that), this beer mug caught my eye. I love that you can personalize it and that it’s for beer! While you’re at it, you can also pick up a 6-pack of your dad’s favorite brew. Unless you’re under 21. Then you’ll need to use your fake ID.

7. Powermat: Nearly every night, my dad and I go through the same routine. We both have Blackberries that use the same charger, so when he can’t find his, he asks to borrow mine. Let’s just say that I’m a little tired of loaning my charger. If you have this problem, or simply if your dad is technology savvy, I’m sure he could benefit from having a mat that can charge his phone and iPod all at the same time.

8. Bocce Ball Set: Don’t you want to be able to say that you are going to go play a round of bocce ball in your backyard? No? Just me? The shiny-ness of this set attracted me, but any set will do! A round of bocce ball is a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon with your dad.

What are you getting for your dad for Father’s Day?

One thought on “Father’s Day Gift Guide

Share your thoughts!

