20 Minutes To Slim

A few months ago, I asked for suggestions for potential blog posts. While I’ve covered most of the topics, I haven’t had a chance to post about one suggestion. A friend asked that I do a review of different workouts from various magazines then discuss them here. I loved the idea, but I was a bit hesitant for a couple of reasons.

Unlike a math problem, exercise and dieting does not have one answer. Everyone is different, so it is important that you learn what works for you. With that being said, it’s hard to determine which exercises will yield the best results for your body. It’s easy to fall into the trap that magazines and other media sources set for us. Bikini season is in full-force, meaning that just about every magazine–from fitness magazines to home magazines–have some sort of workout plan in their summer issues.

“Get Toned Arms in 5 Days!” or “20 Minutes To Slim!” catches our attention, but it also creates false hope. First off, you cannot technically “tone” a muscle. Secondly, if you have batwing arms, they aren’t about to turn rock solid in a matter of days. And 20 minutes to slim? 20 minutes? Really? Yeah, I don’t think so. I realize that these are marketing techniques–in fact, I bet that several of you were inclined to click on this post simply because of the title–but it’s also deceiving.

I’m not dismissing these workouts at all–I think a lot of them are great. When I find a plan while flipping through a magazine, I’ll tear it out and put it in a folder. However, as my friend mentioned, it usually takes longer to figure out how to do the exercise than it does to actually perform it.

Instead of attempting to do the circuit then giving up because my calf aches when it’s supposed to be an arm exercise, I’ll incorporate one or two moves into my current workout plan. A lot of times the workouts are online, so I’ll view the video clip then practice the exercise at home. Over time, you’ll eventually be able to add several new exercises to your workout.

This is a topic that I’m very passionate about, so I’ll cut it short to ensure that I don’t go off on a rampage (and so that I can do some related posts in the near future 🙂 ).

Share your thoughts!

