The Mary Kay Lady Is Stalking Me

Because my nannying position ended on Friday, I thought that I would have a very laid-back week. Little did I know that I would be spending all morning and afternoon making business phone calls and creating spreadsheets!

Since this week is kind of boring and I was banned from going to my beach house (it’s Natalie’s senior week–only freshly graduated 18-year-olds allowed), I decided that I’m going to take a spontaneous trip to New York City tomorrow. If you’ve ever visited the city with me, you’d know that I’m a bit intense. I have a tendency to walk extremely fast, leave people behind on subway platforms, and wander down sketchy alleys.

Some of that was a joke. You can decide which part, but I will have copies of an itinerary printed out, texted to my Blackberry, and emailed to everyone in my group. I also tote around the holy grail of shopping guides, snacks to last a lifetime, and a mini emergency kit. The best part about traveling with me is that I have mastered the art of being a tourist without looking like a tourist. ๐Ÿ™‚

I usually go to New York City with my sisters, but tomorrow I will be going with a friend. I have yet to go to the city and have a relatively normal experience, so she’s in for a treat! ๐Ÿ˜‰

While I was busy typing away, creating an itinerary a work-related spreadsheet, I received a call from a private number. I assumed that it was a contact returning my call, but I was tricked into my arch nemesis’s evil trap. It was actually the Mary Kay lady!

She called and left a message last week, which I ignored. Yes, I screened her call. No, I didn’t call her back. I haven’t spoken to her in over a year and I thought I made it clear that I do not want any part in the business. This woman is like the annoying guy who is sending you texts as he Facebook chats you. Then he texts your best friend when you don’t respond within five minutes.ย  I’ve applied and exhausted all of my “how-to-lose-a-guy-in-1o-days” tactics, but nothing works! Just like Clingy Corey, you have to let down Mary Kay Martha slowly yet firmly.

Unfortunately, neither one of the two knows rejection when it hits them in the face. I’ve told bogus lies from having to bury my nonexistent cat to needing to attend an anti-smoking conference in Sugar Land, Texas. I’ve even used the direct approach and told her that I’m not interested, but she’s relentless!

It’s bad enough that I have to receive her constant emails (seriously, the woman sends about five a day), but now she’s back to calling me nonstop! Perhaps I need a new phone number?

 

 

One thought on “The Mary Kay Lady Is Stalking Me

  1. Ugh, I hate when salespeople can’t take a hint! Hope the Mary Kay Martha stops bothering you soon!

Share your thoughts!

