While The Cat’s Away, The Mice Will Play

My parents headed down to the beach Monday morning and had planned to return by Tuesday afternoon. It’s now late on Wednesday evening and they still have yet to show up. Apparently they forgot that they have responsibilities. As in five children. And about eight loads of laundry.

Since we were all feeling lonely, we invited 75 of our closest friends over last night for a little pool party. Don’t worry, Mom,  the fire department only had to come once. 😉

After Natalie and I dropped Brian and Ali off at school this morning, we had the bright idea to go for a walk in the blistering heat. Those three miles were pure torture. My body was feeling sluggish so I did 45 minutes of easy yoga afterward to get a good stretch.

My day was busy, busy, busy. My siblings and I have been subsisting on shreds of lettuce and sugar for dinner for the past few nights, so I figured it was about time that we made a real meal. However, I wanted to make something simple after being out for over nine hours.

Pizza it was! Brian complains when I make my pizzas “too healthy,” but he loved the one I made tonight. I topped a whole-wheat pre-made pizza crust with tomato sauce, low-fat shredded mozzarella cheese, and lots of veggies. It only took about 15 minutes to make, which was perfect for tonight.

Time to pack school lunches and watch trashy TV. Hopefully my parents will appear tomorrow considering we have a significant event to attend. We’ll see.

 

Share your thoughts!

