abcdefood.

I saw this survey pop up on a few blogs, so I thought I would share!

A is for Apple, what’s your favorite variety?

I go through phases with apples, but Gala apples are usually my favorite.

B: is for Bread, regardless of nutrition, calories, or whole grains what is your favorite type to have a nice big piece of?

A doughy slice of beer bread.

C: is for Cereal what is your favorite kind currently (just one!)

I don’t eat cereal that often because it doesn’t fill me up, but I recently tried Quaker’s Oatmeal Squares and loved them.

D: is for Doughnuts, you might not currently be eating them but what kind do you fancy?

Boston Kreme (the kind with pudding) or one with colorful sprinkles!

E: is for Eggs, how would you like yours prepared?

I’ll eat eggs in any form. Sunny side-up, scrambled, omelet with veggies, hard-boiled, raw….

F: is for Fat Free, what is your favorite fat free product?

I don’t buy very many fat-free products, but I love fat-free Greek yogurt.

G: is for Groceries, where do you purchase yours?

Truthfully, I can’t buy all of my groceries from one place. I buy the majority of my food from Wegmans and Sam’s Club, but I also like certain products from Giant, Trader Joe’s, and Whole Foods.

(Please note that I modified the question for G; the question was grammatically incorrect and it was bothering me!)

H: is for Hot Beverages, what is your favorite hot drink?

Even in the dead of the winter, my drink of choice is cold water. If I had to pick, my favorite hot beverage would be chai tea.

I: is for Ice Cream, pick a favorite flavor and add a fun topping.

Easy: Vanilla Moose Tracks ice cream with hot fudge.

J: is for Jams or Jellies, do you eat them, and if so what kind and flavor?

I only like jams with natural ingredients and no added sugar, but I LOVE this strawberry jam that I buy from Wegmans. It’s appropriately called “Jammin.”

K: is for Kashi, name your favorite Kashi product?

GoLean Cereal! Some of their granola bars cause me severe issues like this

L: is for Lunch, what was yours today?

I haven’t eaten lunch yet, but I presume it will be plain Greek yogurt, pistachios, and some vegetables.

M: is for microwave, what is your favorite microwave meal/snack?

Steamable bags of vegetables are the best, though my family hates when I steam a bag of broccoli in the microwave. Oops!

N: is for nutrients, do you likes carbs, fats, or proteins best?

Nutrients-wise, I like proteins the most. Lean meats, eggs, yogurts, and protein powders fill me up, but carbs make me feel sluggish. I prefer a combination of all three though!

O: is for oil, what kind do you like to use?

I like to use extra virgin olive oil for cooking and coconut oil as a butter substitute in baking.

P: is for protein, how do you get yours?

I get protein from a variety of sources including chicken, turkey, eggs, Greek yogurt, milk, nuts, and protein powders. I’m allergic to fish, but I wish I wasn’t since it’s great for many reasons!

Q: is for Quaker, how do you like your oats?

With chocolate chips, coconut, and butter, baked into a cookie. Oh, you mean the healthy way? Then the way it was previously stated, minus the butter. Okay, fine. Not baked into a cookie! I’m like Goldilocks, remember??

R: is for roasting, what is your favorite thing to roast?

I’m trying to think of something non-boring, but all I can come up with is vegetables. Chestnuts? I don’t know. Do people actually roast chestnuts [on an open fire]?

S: is for sandwich, what’s your favorite kind?

It depends on my mood, but I typically like turkey and mozzarella cheese on Trader Joe’s whole grain bread with lettuce, sprouts WITHOUT caraway seeds, and bread and butter pickles.

T: is for travel, how do you handle eating while traveling?

I pack a suitcase full of non-perishable foods. No, really. I do. When I’m on vacation, I try to pick the best options available but also enjoy the great food that is there.

U: is for unique, what is one of your weirdest food combos?

I don’t really have any weird food combinations. I’m the kind of person that doesn’t like my food to touch on my plate on Thanksgiving, so mixing opposing foods is not appetizing to me.

V: is for vitamins, what kind do you take?

I take gummy vitamins. I used to take Women’s One A Day, but those make me nauseous.

W: is for wasabi, yay or nay?

I like wasabi with sushi, but not a lot!

X: is for XC Foodie, why is she so awesome? XRAY. If we xrayed your belly right now, what food would we see?

Breakfast–a crunch peanut butter banana sandwich and a glass of milk.

Y: is for youth, what food reminds you of your childhood?

A slice of American cheese microwaved onto a plate. Jen went to a friend’s house once and they ate this as a snack, so she insisted on making it at home. She taught all of us this little “trick” and it instantly became a favorite. My mom hated the idea of having to scrub five plates of stuck-on cheese.

Z: is for zucchini, how do you prepare it?

Thinly sliced and baked in the oven.


What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? 

One thought on “abcdefood.

Share your thoughts!

