Little Freak

When I get home after 9pm on a “school” night, I automatically feel stressed out. If you know me, you’d know that there’s a 99.9% chance that you will not receive a response from me until 6am the following morning if you contact me past 10pm. Well, sticking to my schedule and getting to bed on time is difficult when you get home dangerously close to the time that the lights go off in my bedroom.

I’ve gotten home late nearly every night this week, so I feel like I’m behind on a lot of things. I usually find my family relaxing in our sun room watching a show of my dad’s choice (usually The Voice or American Idol–blegh), but tonight was drastically different.

I walked into my house and found it empty while the song “Little Freak” by Usher was blasting through my surround sound. My dad was apparently out socializing, Brian was quietly doing something in the basement, Natalie and Ali were running an errand, and my mom was outside watering the plants.

There are several things wrong with this picture. Let’s first start with the obvious: since when is my house ever empty?! Okay, kidding. Why in the world is the song “Little Freak” vibrating through the speakers? Oh, that’s right, my mom has a slight obsession with Usher and insisted that we buy his CD for her for Christmas. I saw some neighbors outside, so I took the liberty to turn the music off down a bit when she wasn’t looking.

And the only time that my dad goes out is when he dragged to a dinner party with my mom. And Brian? Not bouncing off the walls? Something is weird around here, but I’m not complaining.

It’s getting late (by my standards), so here’s a quick exercise recap of the day. Since I was planning on meeting Jamie at the NCR Trail this morning, I thoughtfully invited Natalie along. We then decided that we were semi-bored of the trail, so we thought a walk through Jamie’s neighborhood would be more entertaining.

Too bad Jamie doesn’t know the neighborhood that she has lived in for the past 19 years. Yes, we got lost. Not as bad as my Hansel and Gretel moment, but we did get turned around a bit. We made so many twists and turns that it would be nearly impossible to calculate the distance (I don’t know how to work my watch that tracks it either), but if I had to guesstimate, we probably covered 3.5 miles. Then again, I think 50 feet is the length of a car.

Because our walk was very hilly and I could feel shin splints coming on, I got on the treadmill when we came home and walked a slow two miles. I followed that up with Bethenny Frankel’s yoga dvd to finish with a good stretch. If my shin splints aren’t severe, I find that walking on the treadmill with a 0% incline really helps me. My legs feel much better now!

I didn’t have any exciting eats for the day, so that’s all I’ve got for tonight! I’m off to bed!

One thought on “Little Freak

Share your thoughts!

